Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI everyone,

I am new to the web site. so HI.

Anyways, I had a 1998 Saab 93 SE with tronic 5 engine, and now I have 2004 Saab 95 with tronic 7 engine, really both engines are the same, main difference tronic 7 has a black coil and tronic 5 has a red coil, but for the most part engines are the same, both 2.0 turbo. now here is my problem:

I live in Jordan and it can get very hot here, summer normally is in the 35 c range. and when ever i go on a long trip anything over 60km distance, the terrain in this country is really odd, where elevation changes alot really fast by 200-1000m. for some reason my car would overheat with out really heating the water.

so far it happened in both cars. newer cars have aluminum engines, so they heat faster and cool faster. but my 95 has the older engine, where the engine is mostly iron i guess rather than aluminum , just the head is aluminum.

Last time i was driving my 95 when it happened, my temp was normal, and then the car just turned off. so i left the car for 10 minutes and started it again. and the car started and i kept driving, but by the time i got to where i was going, the engine, was almost gone, the metal it self had overheated, ruined the head, and crank.

any thoughts? I had the same problem happened on the 93, and last week we had a very hot week it was around 41-43c all week, and i saw over 10 saabs with the same problem when i went to get an oil change.

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
Better OIL. 15-50synthetic or 20-50 std. GIve it more time to warmup from cold (or cool in this case) starts.

Upgrade the intercooler.

Radiator is not the issue.

Might get away with running a cooler thermostat on the T5 car. Not advised for the T7.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·