·
Greek Mod
4,294,967,295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
seam welding the subframe specifically
i remember this coming up in some thread
has anyone gone and done this?
any results? good/bad?
im planning on doing it this weekend in addition to reinstalling my 6-point brace (took it off for some repairs and have yet to reinstall)

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
No one ever plans on crashing... ;)

I say go for it.
Worst comes to worst, you throw another subframe on.
Hell seam welding it may remove part of the need for the 6-point.

Regardless, I am no engineer. :)

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
You put the SE sway bar on yet? If not, perfect chance. That is if you plan on removing the subframe...

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
Yeah warping would be an issue if someone just runs one hot bead the entire way around without stopping to allow it to cool. But if you stitch weld it properly leaving a decent gap between your welds and working around it should be fine. If their is access to do most of it in the air on a lift with it all still bolted to the chassis, I would do it that way. Would act like a jig.

Is the subframe aluminum or galvanized steel? I don't remember.

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
If it's galvanized, make sure you wear the proper respirator. I think WIS says what the metal is. I'll check when I get home.

·
Registered
13,686 Posts
If it's galvanized, make sure you wear the proper respirator. I think WIS says what the metal is. I'll check when I get home.
x 1,000,000,000

Be safe! An I do believe it would be galvanized. It is steel, I've never encountered one that appeared to be factory painted...so I would guess there's a heavy galvanized coating there.

As far as doing this...I seam welded parts of the front frame horns and other areas on the first Lemons car we raced and crashed. I noticed no difference in the car, and post crash, teh whole thing was so screwed up there was no knowing exactly what was affecting what in terms of handling.