Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hellooooooo out there. Here's my story. One of our neighbors, manages a Firestone here in the Atl area had a customer bring a 99 9-3S 5spd in for overheating. Car seems really clean with only 126K and no dents or dings. Clean cloth interior also. The shop replaced the top radiator hose and found that coolant was coming from up thru one of the cylinders. So basically probably a head gasket. The owner wanted to get rid of the car for cheap so now it's just a matter of making contact with him. So for the last week or so, I have been prowling around the board to fine as much information on changing the Head Gasket on the car. I found this link http://www.saabcentral.com/~munki/technical/engine/mechanical/cyl_head_removal.htm
which seems to be the only link regarding changing the Head Gasket. I've talked with Burnside by PM who has been a lot of help. My background is with Honda products as my last 3 cars were all Honda's...Civic, Accord and Legend. I did a engine replacement on the Civic, a H22 swap on the Accord and replaced the Timing Belt/Water Pump on the Legend V6. Looking for advice and information with removing the Cylinder Head and specifically Cam Sprocket and Intake manifold and any other areas that may be difficult. I plan on sending the head out to a machine shop to be cleaned and resurfaced.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah. I talked with the mechanic that worked on the initial hose and he said from talking with the owner, that he had apparently put in some work on the car recently and was tired of putting money into it and wanted to cut losses. I could tell that there was a brand new shifter link installed.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks. I'm getting closer. I gave the money to the shop manager. She talked with the owner yesterday and hopefully by this afternoon I will have the title in hand.:D