Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks I'm a newbie and I have a question.

I'm going to go up to NapTun Stage 4 (Stage 5 eventually - yeah, I plan to fry a piston or two; ya only go around once) on my Y2K Aero and would like to get some wider than stock wheels and tires a la the M5s or CLKs .

Any suggestions? Or am I off my tree? Thanks much...

·
Administrator
668 Posts
Cant get any wider than 8 inches.... thats as good as you can do.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Boxerchip...so even going up to 8's (I currently run the 17X7.5 Fondmetal Turbines) I will be limited in tire size to 225/45?

What about spacers to at least widen the track - or are they bunk /junk?

Hey where are you in VA ?- I'm up here in Laurel MD...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hmm - I have to admit I didn't think the extra rubber would degrade the handling of the vehicle - but I could see how it would.

Naively thinking that more is better in the rubber dept.

Had an '86 900s, bone stock, got it up to 297K before frame rust set in...

·
Registered
10,049 Posts
yeah - didn't mean to drop your hopes man - sorry bout that - I come from the logical side of a car... I like to look a nice things, but f those nice things take away from my overall performance - it just isn't an upgrade, it's a downgrade no matter how it looks.... I'd say stick with factory specs - the car was designed that way for a reason. If you want a different look - seek another stock rim, or an aftermarket of the same spec. I would never personally go bigger then a 16" rim merely cause here in PA the roads would eat those rims and tires alive and I don't have the money for tires every other month. I stick with my STOCK/OEM 15" rims. I happened to find a set off a 1993 CSE - so those are my NICE rims (still 15" tho) But that's me - to each their own. Hope this all makes sense tho.

·
Administrator
668 Posts