Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Found a '00 5-Speed wagon on CL. I'm going to be looking at it on Saturday. Its got 170K on it.

I've got no knowledge/experience with 9-5's, I've only ever had 9000's (that ran). What should I watch out for/ask about/inspect when I go see this car?

TIA

·
Registered
10,049 Posts
ah-ha! (Keep the 9000 as back-up, you will need it) lol

That's a bit of mileage! Look for repair history - this is always key.

Headlights are plastic - assemblies replace as whole for big $$ new or even used often. If they aren't shot - often if you put the time into them you can buff them back up to decent.

2005MY has a different PCV system - but again, they tend to fail with age and heat - so check for rotten/broken HARD plastic lines. They are a bit of a PITA to change, and also not cheap cheap, but reasonable.

Engine Mount - Passenger side; If you can't easily slip your pinky between the mount base and the "washer" if needs one typically.

Look under the car - depending where it has spent it's life, they are starting to rust out pretty bad in random spots. i.e.; Where the front uni-body rails run beneath the front of the car, the body plugs around them, trunk pans, fuel doors - hatches...

Air box problems can always be scarry and expensive if there is something broken... press the "auto" and the "off" together to check for codes in the ACC - list here of what they mean: http://www.saab9-5.com/faq_acc.htm

Sid or ACC pixels missing - always leverage to get the price knocked down as these parts cost a lot new (use BBA Reman to get them fixed)

Make sure the AC blows cold from ALL vents (rear too) same with the Heat

Power seats - if they move, but buck as it moves it needs a memory switch (same as 9000)

1998-2001 9-5
Glass Headlights - best IMHO - have replaceable lens which are under $80 each or $135 about for a set of "ecode" lens from GenuineSaab.com for improved light output

*2002- 9-5