Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw mention of investments in a different thread and it's a topic I'm becoming more interested in recently. I don't recall another thread about it, and i figure it deserves its own thread.

So what are ya'll doing in terms of investments? Both in terms of retirement and shorter term stuff.

I'm a fairly recent college grad and I'm just stating to invest. I automatically contribute enough of my check (before tax) to my 401(k) to max out the company match. I picked a fund that is pretty aggressive since I have a long time before retirement. I also want to invest a little more so I'm looking into IRAs, specifically a ROTH IRA.

I'm mainly looking to hear what you guys do, and get some advice from more seasoned veterans.

TIA

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
I don't do enough. But your young, start right with retirement. Good job on contributing up to your company's match on a 401k now start putting 5k a year into an IRA or Roth IRA.

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
I don't do enough. But your young, start right with retirement. Good job on contributing up to your company's match on a 401k now start putting 5k a year into an IRA or Roth IRA.
Agreed. I also have a Roth with Firstrade with some Vanguard ETF's and index funds.

·
Premium Member
4,442 Posts
Roths are great. I have my money split between 50% large cap stocks, 25% mid caps, and 25% in a highly-rated mutual fund. For the next 3-4 years (at least), stocks are the place to be. Quite a few stocks can still be bought at a discount, since many haven't fully recovered to pre-recession highs.

IRAs are also great because you don't pay capital gains tax on stocks you sell. So when they make a good run and you want to get out, you can do so without tax worries.