Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an automotive student who commutes approx 100 miles/day in my 9-5. I also carry 100lbs of tools with me every day, no exceptions. Gas mileage in the 9-5 is excellent at an average of 26mpg every tank, but unfortunately the commute and tool carrying is taking a toll on my car. it was mint until i started going to school and now it's just getting "Beat" so that's why i'm looking for a commuter/beater car. Two cars i'm looking at are a 1982 Merc 300TD wagon and a 1989 Merc 300E sedan. I'd like some input on both.

1982 300TD:
Good:
-Mint body/paint/interior/wood/wheels
-Newish tires brakes
-Lots of room for tools or anything for that fact
-Approx 200k on motor - purrs like a kitten
-avg 25mpg everywhere
-Perfect candidate for a Grease car
Bad:
-Burned out dash lights
-Small exhaust leak
-Needs rear shocks
-Occasionally hesitates shifting.
-Will need to be plugged in during the winter months, unfortunately i'm in an apartment complex so that will be an issue.
-I don't think it's a turbo, just a "touring diesel" Ill check next time I see it.
-It's a big ol wagon that will take a little $$ to make bad ass.

1989 300E:
Good:
-Straight 6 gas motor, Approx 160k
-real classy interior, but a little bit less "classic" than the wagon if you know what I mean.
-A little more my style than the wagon
-More HP for highway cruising
Bad:
-Body and interior a little rough around the edges
-Lower gas mileage
-A little scarier investment compared to the diesel
-Idles rough on cold starts but levels out when warm. guy mentioned plugs or injectors

soooo.... opinions or advice?? And no, a saab is not on my list haha so don't mention it. I'd consider other Mercedes models but there aren't many for sale around me.
for the record, the TD is $1200 and the E is $1500. These are not exact pics, just some for reference.

·
Registered
10,049 Posts
1982 Merc 300TD wagon - better car IMHO