Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Premium Member
2003 9-3 Linear
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to the Saab Link community and also new to this "Saab Driving Lifestyle" .
I own/drive a (manual) 2003 Saab 9-3 Linear
So.. the clutch was slipping when I bought it for $1200 with 114k miles on it, But wasn't slipping or going out too bad (or so I thought). Ina few months of driving, my rpms slowly starting surging or fluctuating here and there and progressed gradually.
Well one day driving to work (which is 45 miles one way, but all highway) the car wont switch gears from 2nd to 3rd. Like my clutch wasnt engaging or was stuck. Prior to this, the clutch had sank to the floor here and there but eventually came back up and maintained pressure. Well it finally engaged after a couple of minutes coasting down the road and I go on my way.
A couple days later it started to not hardly let me shift gears at all and my rpms were surging majorly. Wel almost to work I turn on my works road off the highway and drop to neutral, no down shifting, and slow my car down to a good second gear speed and shift to 2nd. The engine revs high but went no where. I could smell burning rubber or plastic very strongly and tried every gear I could. Nothing.
So I am sure the clutch burnt out.

Now, to where I am at...

I cant afford a clutch/tranny swap or install and I really dont trust anyone here in Alabama to do it, via lack of knowledge of Saab vehicles. I've studied and researched alot but still am lacking some of the info I'm requiring.

Side note: I did however buy a 2005 Saab 9-3 Linear (manual) for $700 because the deal I got with it was stupid of me to just let go and not get.