Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Subject: 2002 9-5 ARC SEDAN (It's a bit different for the 5Ds)
Cost: $594 from State of Nine(cost of the kit - assuming you have the tools *cough*)
Difficulty: Moderate (installing it is easy, reading the manual isn't...)
Time: 4 hours (under Alabama's sun...)

Please remember this is the original Saab haul hitch kit! (trying to find excuses for the ridiculous price...)

Starting this threat, I have to tell you a few things.

a. This will be a two section threat. One for the hitch and one for the electronics.
b. This is my first time I get dirty with my Saab. What for you guys and gals is obvious, it may take several hours for me to realize...
c. I had no help at all. This is a do-it-yourself thing from the scratch. Leaving you and you alone to blame if something bad happens to the trailer...
d. This is NOT a replacement of the manual. It's just a visual guide to help you understand what the *beep* the manual says...
e. (I'm really proud for this one) This is the first time I actually install something and there are no remaining nuts or screws left! I made it! *flex*
f. Am I part of the TSL family now? *puppy eyes*

Let's start!

PART 1 : INSTALLING THE HITCH HAUL

This is what you get when you order the kit. It costs $594.

We start by removing the bumper *cough* with removing the screws from the back of the tire, underneath the bumper and from the inside underneath the compartment cover. Once you remove them, gently pull the bumper starting from the sides moving towards the center.

That's how it looks... Ugly, isn't she?

Remove the eye and place the plastic cover (included in the kit) to cover the hole.

Here it gets scary... Using a utility knife, cut the bumper (yes, cut the bumper) following the line shown in the pictures.

Remove the spacers from the bumper.