Saab Link Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so even though I am not going to do this any time soon because my engine runs just fine... but in the years to come I know eventually it will go put put fizzle. So here's is my question.....if the car is in good condition I wanna keep the body but I'll need a new engine. SO my question would be as I am saving up for it once I get a good job... should I install another 4 cylinder turbo charged or a new v6 and turbocharge it? I was thinking the v6 because you can only get so much out of a 4 banger, but I am new to cars so I could be wrong.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How can a 4 banger engine beat the v6turbocharged or even super charged? Like it doesn't make sense to me. Someone please explain.

·
Registered
610 Posts
In theory, you're right. But factor in the following:

1) the 2.3 engine is a Saab's marvel of engineering, perfected by decades of evolution, while the 3.0 turbo was a quick adaptation of a first suitable V6 sample from a corporate stable to satisfy the North American hunger for bigger displacement;

2) the 2.3 is strong and has a lot of unrealized potential. People are taking it over 300 hp with stock internals, while we have yet to see a single V6 that went that far;

3) the tuner market for 3.0t is virtually non-existent, while you can find an immense number of upgrade choices for 4-cylinder Saabs.

Shall I continue? ;)

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
300hp with a 4 banger? Dang I am there. If I didn't have a warranty I would so do that..... the future shows promise though.

·
Registered
745 Posts
Osiris,

I was like you, because I kept thinking about size without considering design.