Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
like the title says im going to look at an 86 900 this week...
this one to be more specific....

im really pumped, but i dont want to go into it just looking to buy without any clue..(i do that alot, my heart comes first before my head with cars lol)
now the car also is not a skip away.. its an 11 hr drive.. so i want to make sure it will make it to my house... my main question is WHAT SHOULD I BE LOOKING FOR??

i know a decent amount of common problems with these but i want to know what some of the hidden problems might be.. i know to ckeck the h/g, timing chain tension. control arm for rust.. wineing in 3rd/5th. bassically all the normal wear and tear items.(im a capible mechanic for the past 7 or so years) its just i have never owned a c900 and dont want to get a heap..

lmk what you guys think/look for when getting a c900 of this vintage!!:wink:

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
leaving in the AM!!!! im pumped!!

·
Registered
4,252 Posts
Awesome!! I really hope you snag this. Bullnose Airflow in white = amazing.

Make sure the trans doesn't pop out of gear (esp. 2nd on decel) and watch for gear whine at highway speeds. Also do some full-lock turns and verify that there's no clicking from the CVs.

Also check the boost needle at WOT, quite often you'll find c900 turbos boosting lower than they should. Usually a simple fix but still.

Good luck to you! Please buy it.

Also check for little stuff, like: Does reverse lockout work? Does the shifter spin? All gauges work? Windows, all electrics, etc?

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·