Saab Link Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
10,303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A buddy of mine Nate, aka, Driver Found, convinced me not to pay the dealership to do my front brakes. Instead he taught me. It went reasonable well. Here we go.

This is Nate, He posts here randomly as Driver found. We needed to hit the city for some Dot 4 type fluid. On our way there, we descovered that his car is a month over do on inspection and 5 months over do on registration :nono;

First step is to brake the lugs while the car is on the ground. This is easier than with it up.

Yikes, I have been driving around with a bad caliper for a few months. Not cool. Everthing was toast.

Here we are removing the banjo bolt that holds down the fluid line. We then moved to discover that we didn't have a T55 for the caliper bolts. :roll:

Once we found a T55 (as easy as finding dot4 in my town) we were able to get a move on removing the caliper bolts. This is when no bumber and a pipe for leverage come in handy.

The caliper was so locked up, we had to beat it with a hammer to dislodge it.

These pads were toast.They were sliced thinner than deli ham. :eek:

The back surface of the rotor was almost gone. I cut myself twice and Nate hit his head on my fender. And we also needed the hammer to remove the rotor.

We slathered everything in copper antiseize.

Reasemble like we took it apart. We bled the brakes with his auto bleeder he got from a german car parts site. Bled about a refried been can's worth and closed the valve off.

Re-assembly. All-in-all this was an easy job once we tracked down all the tools.

·
Registered
584 Posts
By the time we got the brake fluid and the damn T55 bit for the caliper, it was a half hour job. I'm glad I finally convinced Ben to take the plunge and turn a wrench. :p