Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,049 Posts
Tech2 we have at the shop good up to 2010 Saab's and older software card too - he's buying a CANDi This year - I was curious as to the now known $750 year cost. That's not terrible - I might be able to talk him into starting the subscription - THANKS! I'm not sure why he never looked into it honestly... but as I said, he's got 1 more year and I am taking over (as long as I can ensure he "retires")
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,022 Posts
I have mine set up to a laptop too, so it's handy to sit in the car with it. I sprung for a Panasonic Toughbook, so that when it invariably gets oil spilled into the keyboard by one of my not-so-computer-savvy mechanics I won't lose everything.

The SPS subscription is really handy because you can just punch in fault codes and it'll sort you out the diagnostic procedure with the pertinent wiring diagrams right inline. It is worth every penny, I think I offset the cost of our subscription within two months, and I got the $1k/yr with service info and programming. It's got all the tech info and diagnostic info for '97+ 9000's and all NG900's. Only thing that bugs me is it doesn't have a tab for EPC in it, so you have to run the two windows side by side.

I usually charge $40 for the first thing that needs programmed, and $20 for each additional, so add AUX audio input, disable the daytime run lights, and turn off the passenger seatbelt warning (so you don't get the big red lamp when you set cargo on the front seat) is $80.

I was just talking with a dealer tech in Santa Ana who just went through the same thing you did, bought all the equipment, only to find out that SAAB is following GM by going to the Global Diagnostic System that is going to work through it's own little laptop programming interface, I think called MDI? So software updates may stop coming at some point, or have to pay additional for them to keep the Tech2 up to date.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,022 Posts
Yup, I'm working on that myself.

Do you have SPS programming capability too, or just security access?

Best,
Drew
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,049 Posts
I don't really want to go into too much detail, but I don't have a TIS subscription.

There are other ways to get security access. That's the route I took.

I'm only updated to late 2008 though.
ha ha - yeah, I think I know what you mean. The shop I am taking over used to have access too for a few years... but he didn't own a CANDi so he never took advantage of the access he had.

There are ways....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Use GM TECH2 Scanner (got it from Chinacardiags.com,with good tech service) to Program ECU with SPS in TIS2000

Kindly notice: Before using the SPS, make sure that the Tech 2 scan tool and the pc contain the latest software, the battery of the vehicle is fully charged, only the ignition is on power, and all cables are connected properly. TIS2000 can only work gm cars until 2007, and software must work together with TIS2000 USB key. If you need to program Saab ECU, you had to use Saab TIS2000 and USB dongle.

Procedure:

blog.chinacardiags.com/how-to-use-gm-tech2-scanner-to-program-ecu-with-sps-in-tis2000/
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top