Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,739 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I need the spg to last me the entire winter so I'm trying not to drive it too hard but if theres something more i can do to make it last longer, it would be great. Obviously the basic things are done or will be done, oil change, spark plugs etc, i always let the car warm up for at least 5 minute every morning, i let it idle for a minute or 2 before i shut it car off, i try not to shift quickly or slam the car into gear and so on.

So this is where double clutching comes into play. I know double clutching isn't necessary for our cars because of the syncros in the tranny but if i do double clutch, how much of an impact will it have on the longevity of the box? The reason i ask is because double clutching isn't something i have a lot of experience with and it's not something that comes naturally to me, so if it has no real impact i probably won't bother.

I know double clucthing would put more strain on the clutch but as far as i can tell the clutch still grabs well, there's good pedal pressure and it doesn't slip. The tranny is what concerns me the most because as far as i know it's original. ( 4th and 5th gear do whine a bit, which I'm guessing is the pinion bearing?)

Soo whats the general concensus?

Btw the car has about 235k miles which the main reason I'm asking this question.

Edit:

What about rev matching? Again it's not something i have a whole lot of experience with but I'm assuming it would help?

·
Registered
3,384 Posts