Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Unfortunately I ran across some problems since I stored my Viggen back in November. The first time I started it up, sometime mid December, it idled for a couple minutes then cut off immediately. Because I didn't hear anything to alarming I cranked it over one time, then realized something wasn't right. I opened the hood, got the flash light out, and immediately noticed the belt was off the upper idler pulley.

Since then I haven't had the time to really investigate the issue. I'm just trying to get an idea what to look for when I do get to it, which should be within a week. This is my first time looking over the serpentine belt tensioner, tensioner bolt and pulleys. Any helpful hints or tips would be much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
6,468 Posts
Odds are that the idler pulley was on its way out before you parked it and decided to let go now...which is extremely lucky.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
Yep do the idler pulley and new belt and you'll be good

·
Registered
2,014 Posts
I would also check out the belt and see if it didn't break. Did anyone take off the belt or chance a rodent got to it?

There should be a guide on the car fender or on this site to see the belt path. Use a long 1/2" socket extension on the tensioner at the rear of the block to put the belt back on.

Look for the examples on how to put the tensioner/pulley on. I also would double check that the one of the pulleys in the middle of the block didn't throw a bearing.

·
Registered
593 Posts
As long as the belt is off, spin each pulley by hand.
This.

If your idler isn't bad, you likely have a bad bearing in another accessory that is either loose enough to let the belt unmount, or it seized for a moment then let go abruptly, throwing some slack into the belt and letting it derail.

Either way, check all the pulleys and bearings.

·
Registered
5,111 Posts