Saab Link Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it even possible to convert my automatic to a manual? If so what type of problems woul you suspect me of facing? I really wanna drop some dough into the car and I think this would take a big chunk of it, but I want manual.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Not worth it, your better off buying a new 9-5 thats a 5 speed.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Okay so if I buy the 5 speed... can I upgrade it to six? I have no car knowledge so this could be fun.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Do they even make a Saab 9-3 or a 9-5 with a six speed? You could probably do it on a 9-2x if it doesn't come stock, because they use the same stuff as WRXs. So you could get the STI 6 speed, or you could get one of the sequential 6 speeds from japan if you want to spend around 14-15k just on the tranny. Otherwise, good luck on a five speed conversion, the labor cost alone would be insane. Saabkid and jedimaster are right, you would be better off with a different car...

·
Registered
352 Posts
yes, 6 speed 9-3's existed, in the 9-3ss, i think it was MY 2003 they had a 6 speed but that was discontinued to due problems with the tranny

besides, why do you need a 6 speed....only if you're laying down a crapload of power would you need one, otherwise, that means you have to shift earlier since gearing will be different....good luck with the swap or getting a manual car

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
yes I would plan on laying down a crapload of power. And a 6 speed is so much fun to drive and shift in. Plus a manual allows me to get my turbo going instead if holding the brake and giving it gas like I do sometimes (which is bad for all of you who want to try... it makes your wheels sqeak for a while and if you rev it high enough can really destroy your tranny and axel). I have also wanted a six speed and I just want my saab to be amazing and different from every other 9-5

·