Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So during the summer I was heading into the Adirondack mountains with my girlfriend on a camping trip, and we're just driving along, doing our own thing, when we see an abandoned motel on the side of the road. Nothing out of the ordinary, probably the third or fourth one we had seen that day. However, I'm a photographer, and I enjoy photographing abandoned buildings (the bigger the better). And I really had to pee. Not sure if there was a gas station or fast food place in a mile or 50 miles, I asked if she wanted to stop and check it out. She said it was up to me. Less than a half a mile down the road, and all while this conversation was happening I came across another abandoned motel, great, I'll just pee here. So I do my thing, then decided to wander around a little, nothing to exciting, so I decided we should go check out the other one real quick. While we're there we notice a large billboard and a parking lot way down behind the motel. Kinda odd see as how we're miles from anything of interest. As we ventured down away from the main road, we noticed an abandoned house, then we saw a dirt road leading into the woods. Curiosity got the best of me as I started venturing down the bumpy over grown dirt rd. We saw two buildings at first, one looked like a small barn/big shed, the other looked like horse stables. Not sure what this was, we rolled along slowly, ready to throw it in reverse at the first sign of a person living there. Well, I'm glad we ventured on, for what we discovered wasn't anything I could've predicted.
We discovered Frontier Town!
A theme park built in the 1950's to show people what life was like in the wild west. They had shoot outs, train robberies, stage coaches, saw mills, rodeos, a western outfitters, a last chance saloon, and so much more!