Saab Link Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 99 9-3 has 190k miles and still runs but has to go, too much work involved in fixing it up. However, yesterday, I found a post on craigslist for a 900 SPG clone. Now I have contemplated buying an SPG in the past but this one is in great condition from the pictures and I was wondering if anyone would be able to explain to me what exactly a clone is? Is it a clone because it's got aftermarket parts such as stage 2 kevlar 9000 clutch and a T3T4 super 60 turbo? Or am I missing something? Oh yeah i'm a noob here. Thanks in advance.

·
Deez Nutz
15,679 Posts
huh, they put an 86 front on a 91? Weird, yet awesome.

Looks alright to me, pending the condidon of the transmission...

The 1990-91 boxes are pretty alright, so you have that going for you.

That's not going to be a reliable daily, IMHO. Just so you know.

·
Registered
2,950 Posts
Biocide,

The SPG clone you're looking at appears to be a good deal at 2k. You have at least that much value in parts alone, although I agree with Palmer, that the car might not be a great daily driver. Mint 900 turbos with those mods, should be 3-5k cars, so either the seller is desparate for money, or there's something wrong with the car. You should definitely go and check it out and thoroughly inspect it; just don't have incredible expectations. Most of the time, you get what you pay for, and a 20 year old Saab that has been modded to the gills is no different. Could be a jewel, could be a project, or it could be a complete, hacked up piece of shit. My bet is that it's a little better than a project as it must have been a solid, well running car for someone to have invested the money they put into that car. Let us know how it looks if you go see it!

·
Registered
3,384 Posts