3.5 fpr ? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2013, 09:06 PM   #1
TSLMember
 
jack 9-3SE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal,(Laval),Qc
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to jack 9-3SE
Cool 3.5 fpr ?

Hey guys I bught this 3.5 fpr here:
FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR SAAB 9-3 9-5 900 9000 2.0 2.3 2.5 TURBO 3.5 BAR | eBay

what you think?
jack 9-3SE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2013, 12:09 AM   #2
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 579
You are going to need a tune for this to work properly...
This is because you are going to go rich and the ECU will not like that.
I confess that I don't know if the ECU can effectively adapt (<=20%) for the difference in flow. You might be able to get it to run OKAY...
Why did you buy it? The stock one is 3.0BAR.
-Cm
__________________
T5 Suite Stg GpopT28, Deka 630's, Walbro 255LPH, 3 bar MAP @ 1.92Bar, W/M, Stg2 clutch, full suspension/bushes, 308mm brake upgrade, 3" turbo-back, big-azz FMIC &Oil-cooler, and fwdlol diapers.
Cm452 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2013, 05:22 AM   #3
Elder
 
Marks9-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central, CT
Posts: 3,348
Send a message via AIM to Marks9-3
Pretty sure that while T5 tunes eventually need the 3.0bar MAP sensor, the T7's use the 3.5bar FPR instead.
__________________
'96 900SE Stg 4 RIP | '97 900SE Gone | '98 900SE Gone |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| '02 9-5 Aero | '04 9-5 Aero Stg 3
Marks9-3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-11-2013, 05:41 AM   #4
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
This requires a tune. Get in touch with Mike D.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2013, 10:46 AM   #5
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marks9-3 View Post
Pretty sure that while T5 tunes eventually need the 3.0bar MAP sensor, the T7's use the 3.5bar FPR instead.
While I am not 100% on the T7, I know for a fact that T5 uses a 3.0 bar regulator and I am inclined to believe that T7 does as well.
-Cm
__________________
T5 Suite Stg GpopT28, Deka 630's, Walbro 255LPH, 3 bar MAP @ 1.92Bar, W/M, Stg2 clutch, full suspension/bushes, 308mm brake upgrade, 3" turbo-back, big-azz FMIC &Oil-cooler, and fwdlol diapers.
Cm452 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2013, 01:40 PM   #6
TSLMember
 
jack 9-3SE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal,(Laval),Qc
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to jack 9-3SE
I am going to Stg 3.....

the 3.5fpr I bought don't have any company name on it,all that is written is 3.5bar

Last edited by jack 9-3SE; 05-11-2013 at 01:47 PM.
jack 9-3SE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2013, 08:12 PM   #7
Elder
 
Marks9-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central, CT
Posts: 3,348
Send a message via AIM to Marks9-3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cm452 View Post
While I am not 100% on the T7, I know for a fact that T5 uses a 3.0 bar regulator and I am inclined to believe that T7 does as well.
-Cm
Differences come to play in how the engine management works. T5 is based off air pressure, while the T7 is based off air in the system and desired HP output and due to this, their needs are different. I'm about 99% sure that T7 doesn't have a MAP sensor.
__________________
'96 900SE Stg 4 RIP | '97 900SE Gone | '98 900SE Gone |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| '02 9-5 Aero | '04 9-5 Aero Stg 3
Marks9-3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2013, 04:15 AM   #8
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
A T7 does have a MAP, it's just not used like one is in a T5 since a T7 has a maf and a T5 doesn't.
There were a whole bunch of post years ago about adding a 3.5 to a car that had a 3.0.
I'm pretty sure the answer was that in order to get the full benefit of installing one, you would have it tuned. But if one were to just throw it on, T7 was smart enough to adapt to it but with no gain. If you have a wideband I would plot a/f and fuel trims with both after 200 miles of driving and see what really happens. Why 200 miles, because it is stated that if you unplug the battery, it will take about that many miles of everyday driving for a T7 system to fully adapt.
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2013, 05:12 AM   #9
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,696
Send a message via AIM to mike d
comparing a MAP to an FPR is apples to oranges. an FPR basicly increased the flow rate of your injectors. doing so will make it run kinda crappy untill software has been adjusted
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2013, 04:52 PM   #10
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vermont
Posts: 33
I've bought 2 FPR's from various places (Genuine Saab, eBay) and none of them fit the 9000 Fuel Rail. The small nipple is always too big to fit inside the Fuel Rail on my 9000. Please let us know.
vt9000cse is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.