2-Step Launch Controll - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
StoneSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 489
Question 2-Step Launch Controll

Has any one heard of or put in 2-Step Launch Controll in their Saab?
StoneSilver is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2011, 04:50 AM   #2
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
spgeebee88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athol, MA
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to spgeebee88
yes on a full stand alone system
spgeebee88 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2011, 07:20 AM   #3
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: merrimack, nh
Posts: 465
i belive nira is the way for t7, not sure for t5. i have not been up to date on ecu project recently
__________________
99 lb viggen
dcr99vig is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-07-2011, 07:34 AM   #4
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
i believe t5 suite can do a little stationary rev limit deal if you look through comtrang's post, but i think the laptop had to be connected or something.



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2011, 08:18 AM   #5
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
T5 Car PC app can do single stage launch control, and yes you need the laptop hooked up via CanBUS to achieve it.

*Edit: Not sure if it's really launch control or more like a stationary rev limiter like Saabkid suggests.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2011, 09:28 AM   #6
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
its a stationary rev limit. still better than nothing.



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 05:30 PM   #7
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
StoneSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
i believe t5 suite can do a little stationary rev limit deal if you look through comtrang's post, but i think the laptop had to be connected or something.
I take it t5 suite wont work on a t7, right?
__________________
2000 9-3 SE - BCB Tuned
2008 Evo X GSR

Quote:
Now the Car Gods @ DOT are gunna come Smack your PE PEE
StoneSilver is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 06:17 PM   #8
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 193
No, but t-7 suite will.
__________________
Quote:
Oh no! Don't start talking about smoking M3's! All of the faegets will start crying and quoting magazine figures.
aeroauto is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 08:15 PM   #9
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
StoneSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeroauto View Post
No, but t-7 suite will.
My bad, i met t5 car pc app.
__________________
2000 9-3 SE - BCB Tuned
2008 Evo X GSR

Quote:
Now the Car Gods @ DOT are gunna come Smack your PE PEE
StoneSilver is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 11:14 PM   #10
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
PimpMyPc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Platteville, Wisconsin
Posts: 574
T5 =/= T7. Nothing with T5 in the name will work with T7.

Last edited by PimpMyPc; 11-12-2011 at 11:18 PM.
PimpMyPc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 08:11 AM   #11
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
pitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: albany NY
Posts: 581
you should be able to convert a t5 car to a t7. just swap parts from parts car. its prolly harder than it sounds too
__________________
i may act like i know everything but i know nothing
pitman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 08:46 AM   #12
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
why would you ever want to do that?



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 09:29 AM   #13
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
mike9000aero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: maine
Posts: 1,226
X2
__________________
97 9000 cse stage x Holset hx35w 330whp 373lbft sold
09the VW GTI day stg 1
mike9000aero is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 09:38 AM   #14
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: merrimack, nh
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitman View Post
you should be able to convert a t5 car to a t7. just swap parts from parts car. its prolly harder than it sounds too
you would want to go the other way if at all... and the entire electrical system including sid, twice, miu, ect would have to be swapped and you would prob still have to hack in wiring for accesories i belive. could be done but prob one of the stupidest things someone could do, just use t7 suite or go balls out for nira
__________________
99 lb viggen
dcr99vig is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 09:58 AM   #15
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
pitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: albany NY
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
why would you ever want to do that?
i never said i would want to do that. just saying it can be done.

plus i would like the unlocked t7 sid in my car. i know it isnt worth the hassle but if it was easy i might consider it
__________________
i may act like i know everything but i know nothing
pitman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2011, 10:05 AM   #16
Elder
 
b dash rian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,536
Send a message via AIM to b dash rian
the rev limit function on the T5 actually works pretty well. if you don't mind destroying clutches... also, it'll let you build a few PSI of boost if you set it right and actually go for it...

just don't set it, then close your laptop... we figured that out the hard way
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Football stars play for the Steelers. Suck it, Cleveland.
b dash rian is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2011, 04:55 AM   #17
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesilver93se View Post
Has any one heard of or put in 2-Step Launch Controll in their Saab?
Explain why you would even want one of these?
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2011, 05:26 AM   #18
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
PimpMyPc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Platteville, Wisconsin
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by lms View Post
Explain why you would even want one of these?
Mentality: Makes the car fast/Honda's have it?

Actuality: Quickly tells you which driveline component was the weakest.

On the strip its a good idea, but the street it would be completely useless. All you're going to do is burn the shit out of the tires through first.
PimpMyPc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2011, 07:27 AM   #19
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by PimpMyPc View Post
Actuality: Quickly tells you which driveline component was the weakest.


Word!
BobSabbert is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2011, 12:50 PM   #20
SAAB Road Master
 
We_sleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Needmore PA
Posts: 317
I still want to try out a Bee*R limiter on a t5 saab....
We_sleigh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.