B206/b204 - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2011, 08:48 PM   #1
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
B206/b204

Hallo to all!

Well, i dont have a saab, but i want to put the title engine/s into an

opel speedster/vx220. My current engine is a z22se which uses the F23

gearbox and i ve read that the saab engines are a direct bolt on.

So, to cut to the chase, i want to use a b206 which doesnt have the

balance shafts (every kg is importand), but i want the strength of the b204L/R.

I ve also read that i can make a hybrid with the b204-b206 bottom, the

b205 head, using the b204 cams and gasket and volvo springs.

Are the internals of b206 as good as the b204's, or just the block?

Any suggestion/help/opinions are more than welcome!



p.s. where can i see the code number of th engine, on the engine? I had a

look today to some saabs and i found one write B206Iblah blah on the registration

and an other write B204Iblah blah but i couldnt confirm it on the engine.

And they looked pretty much, the same. With black top, not red.

Thank you very much, in advance!
LMP1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2011, 10:09 PM   #2
Elder
 
VWSAABVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lima Ohio
Posts: 3,061
Send a message via AIM to VWSAABVT
why not just use a b204 and remove the balance shafts and plug the oil ports?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stg 5 99 9-3 coupe
96 900se sold
VWSAABVT is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 10:54 PM   #3
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by VWSAABVT View Post
why not just use a b204 and remove the balance shafts and plug the oil ports?
well, i dont trust my skills to that level. I ve read somewhere about balancer shafts deletion and it was a big hassle.
But i will rethink about it. Also, a b206 block is unlikly to have been beaten up,
as much as a turbo b204. But again the block is pretty much bulletproof...
I m confused

(Thanks for the reply!)
LMP1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-30-2011, 05:35 AM   #4
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
IX III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 998
A balance shaft disable can be done by just removing one chain (separate and smaller than the main timing chain) and plugging one oil port... if you're really after those kg's and you were looking to remove the balance shafts from the block- that is a whole different story, and I understand your hesitation. Most people just disable the balance shafts and leave them in the block, I can't imagine they weigh that much.

I cant speak for the b206 (i'm sure someone else can), but the b204/b234 series are incredibly strong, both in terms of the iron block and the internals. The b205/b235 became a bit weaker as well.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
IX III is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-30-2011, 07:29 AM   #5
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Good news. Today i found a b206 bottom for 200E. He thought that it was

a b204i, without balance shafts, but i dont think that something like that exists.

I will get now a B204L and i ll throw everything in.

I d like to have the head ported.

The standard cams are any good for max 550hp?
LMP1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2011, 07:17 PM   #6
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
pitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: albany NY
Posts: 581
pretty sure the stock t5 head can flow to 500hp. its allabout the turbo
__________________
i may act like i know everything but i know nothing
pitman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.