What wideband do you like? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2009, 11:48 AM   #1
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
What wideband do you like?

So I've been thinking of picking up a wideband for my viggen. I used an AEM UEGO on my turbo accord and that did pretty good at doing it's job for $230, but I have heard that some people do not like them because they can't be recalibrated, their datalogging is not well sorted, and other reason I can't remember. Innovate widebands are around the same price and PLX supposedly makes a very good product. What do you guys use and why? I tried searching but all I found was either an install or a FS thread.
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2009, 03:56 PM   #2
Elder
 
comtrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT/Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,347
Send a message via MSN to comtrang
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedForSwede View Post
So I've been thinking of picking up a wideband for my viggen. I used an AEM UEGO on my turbo accord and that did pretty good at doing it's job for $230, but I have heard that some people do not like them because they can't be recalibrated, their datalogging is not well sorted, and other reason I can't remember. Innovate widebands are around the same price and PLX supposedly makes a very good product. What do you guys use and why? I tried searching but all I found was either an install or a FS thread.
I like my AEM BECAUSE it doesn't need to be calibrated. For datalogging, there's a 0-5v that can be tied into the ECU. I think I read good things about PLX as well but no first hand experience.

Another minor thing I liked about the AEM over the Innovate I had for a few weeks, is that it's one simple cable One end to the sensor, one to the gauge and you're good to go.
__________________
Daily Driven '00 Saab 9-3
Bone stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SOLD '97 Saab 900SE
Stock 2.0
Holset HX35


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Branden
comtrang is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2009, 04:12 PM   #3
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
kingofkrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kanata!! EH
Posts: 616
innovate ... lc-1 ... /thread :P
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kingofkrunk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-10-2009, 05:41 PM   #4
Elder
 
Green9kAERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 4,187
i have the LC1 but i like the AEM gauge WAY better.... but my LC1 works great so i cant really complain
__________________
Quote:
I heard Tom Had a 2 pump dump on his injector duty cycle....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Green9kAERO is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2009, 06:33 PM   #5
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
One thing I wasn't sure of was the "controller" that came with the innovate wbo2's. Like you guys, I'm only familiar with the very straightforward AEM setup which obviously doesn't have one.

Last edited by NeedForSwede; 12-10-2009 at 06:36 PM.
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 06:23 AM   #6
Elder
 
comtrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT/Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,347
Send a message via MSN to comtrang
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedForSwede View Post
One thing I wasn't sure of was the "controller" that came with the innovate wbo2's. Like you guys, I'm only familiar with the very straightforward AEM setup which obviously doesn't have one.
Yeah, very straightforward. When I was pressed for time to get my car finished, it's nice to have the little things like that to speed up the process even by just a few minutes
__________________
Daily Driven '00 Saab 9-3
Bone stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SOLD '97 Saab 900SE
Stock 2.0
Holset HX35


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Branden
comtrang is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:00 AM   #7
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
mike9000aero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: maine
Posts: 1,226
the lc1 is straight forward if you ask me...it was very simple to install and calabrate
__________________
97 9000 cse stage x Holset hx35w 330whp 373lbft sold
09the VW GTI day stg 1
mike9000aero is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:36 AM   #8
Elder
 
DrewP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,021
I bought the PLX with the display because at last I read the Innovate controllers were still frying sensors at an alarming rate. There is lots to read up about it on the Innovate forums. We used an Innovate for the FSAE car at school for two years, and fried two sensors this way, and dealing with Innovate about it was a nightmare.

The PLX, AEM, and Innovate all use the same Bosch sensor, the difference is in the controller.

While calibrating the Innovate is easy, it's a pain unless you have your laptop with you every time you start the car in different conditions. The PLX self-calibrates at each startup, and the PLX has a knob right on the front to set the calibration for different fuels, gasoline, E85, straight ethanol, diesel, and one programmable one.

The response time is very fast, you get repeater outputs right out of the back of the controller for 0-1v, 0-5v, and one programmable, and wiring it isn't any harder or easier than any of the other ones.

Give the controller switched +12, ground, and plug in the sensor and go. If you can't handle that, you shouldn't be messing with the implications of having a wideband anyway.

My only complaint about the PLX with the display, is it is a numerical-only display, which is a pain for the driver to use as a safety check when road testing, and color coded band or bar graph would be infinitely more useful, and wouldn't be hard to rig up, but is worth mentioning that if you buy the 'Tuner Edition' controller with the display and want to be able to monitor it while driving, be ready to buy a bar- or round color display guage as well.

The display will also only read (in gasoline setting) down to 10:1, and up to 20:1, I think the Innovate software will display richer than that when set to gasoline.

My PLX matched the onboard tailpipe system on the dyno last weekend nearly exactly the whole run, just by eye though, I didn't log the output as well.

Best,
Drew
__________________
(Former) Saab Tech / Competition Prep

Quote:
You still don't understand. This is like trying to explain calculus to a clam.
DrewP is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:37 AM   #9
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
do you calibrate it through the "controller?" What does that thing actually do?
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:57 AM   #10
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
quick4door's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 504
i use an innovative PLX device in my turbo wrangler
quick4door is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 09:08 AM   #11
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
I like the lm-1 which I have had for about 4 years now (used it on 5 cars now), but you have to buy an rpm tranducer if you want to log data at certain rpm's. Not a big issue, but an extra cost.
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 07:25 PM   #12
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
Right now I can get a UEGO for like $201 shipped and an Innovate for $230...decisions decisions
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 08:07 PM   #13
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,107
Send a message via AIM to srp
I bought the Innovate LC1 + XD16 guage kit off of ebay for $270 I believe. The XD 16 guage rocks. And you can use the button on it to start calibrate mode.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2009, 10:56 PM   #14
Elder
 
comtrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT/Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,347
Send a message via MSN to comtrang
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewP View Post
I bought the PLX with the display because at last I read the Innovate controllers were still frying sensors at an alarming rate. There is lots to read up about it on the Innovate forums. We used an Innovate for the FSAE car at school for two years, and fried two sensors this way, and dealing with Innovate about it was a nightmare.

The PLX, AEM, and Innovate all use the same Bosch sensor, the difference is in the controller.

While calibrating the Innovate is easy, it's a pain unless you have your laptop with you every time you start the car in different conditions. The PLX self-calibrates at each startup, and the PLX has a knob right on the front to set the calibration for different fuels, gasoline, E85, straight ethanol, diesel, and one programmable one.

The response time is very fast, you get repeater outputs right out of the back of the controller for 0-1v, 0-5v, and one programmable, and wiring it isn't any harder or easier than any of the other ones.

Give the controller switched +12, ground, and plug in the sensor and go. If you can't handle that, you shouldn't be messing with the implications of having a wideband anyway.

My only complaint about the PLX with the display, is it is a numerical-only display, which is a pain for the driver to use as a safety check when road testing, and color coded band or bar graph would be infinitely more useful, and wouldn't be hard to rig up, but is worth mentioning that if you buy the 'Tuner Edition' controller with the display and want to be able to monitor it while driving, be ready to buy a bar- or round color display guage as well.

The display will also only read (in gasoline setting) down to 10:1, and up to 20:1, I think the Innovate software will display richer than that when set to gasoline.

My PLX matched the onboard tailpipe system on the dyno last weekend nearly exactly the whole run, just by eye though, I didn't log the output as well.

Best,
Drew
Are you referring to the Innovate or the PLX on that part?
__________________
Daily Driven '00 Saab 9-3
Bone stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SOLD '97 Saab 900SE
Stock 2.0
Holset HX35


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Branden
comtrang is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2009, 08:17 PM   #15
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
I think he is. I'll probably just end up getting another AEM since it remains to be the cheapest one on the market and gives me the info I want.
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2009, 04:25 AM   #16
Elder
 
codesplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 4,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by srp View Post
I bought the Innovate LC1 + XD16 guage kit off of ebay for $270 I believe. The XD 16 guage rocks. And you can use the button on it to start calibrate mode.

Same here. Well, except I bought mine from Innovate. Anyhoo, been quite pleased with it. The whole package, that is - the Gauge and the Controller.

Haven't fried any sensors either.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2001 9-3 - Nordic Stage 3
2007 9-5 2.3T Wagon

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
codesplice is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2009, 09:01 AM   #17
Elder
 
DrewP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by comtrang View Post
Are you referring to the Innovate or the PLX on that part?


The PLX.


Best,
Drew
__________________
(Former) Saab Tech / Competition Prep

Quote:
You still don't understand. This is like trying to explain calculus to a clam.
DrewP is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 01:17 PM   #18
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: merrimack, nh
Posts: 465
the lc1 is easy to install and calibrate, if you follow the directions. i like the look of the gauge too its cleaner looking i think
__________________
99 lb viggen
dcr99vig is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 01:34 PM   #19
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
The PLX would be the gauge I would go with if and when I get a wideband. The customization that is possible is really appealing in my mind and for the advantages in flexibility for its calibration like Drew mentioned.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2010, 01:25 PM   #20
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
NeedForSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 1,626
So I thought this might be worth posting. It's the cheapest deal I've found for for an Innovate LC-1 with some gauge to display AFR's...other than 14point7.com.
http://www.xenocron.com/apu1-autopro...6a9bbb8eb2899e
NeedForSwede is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.