T5.5 97 and up ECU's? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2009, 05:03 AM   #1
Elder
 
VWSAABVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lima Ohio
Posts: 3,061
Send a message via AIM to VWSAABVT
T5.5 97 and up ECU's?

Just wanna double check what years had T5.5
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stg 5 99 9-3 coupe
96 900se sold
VWSAABVT is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2009, 05:06 AM   #2
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
in the US:

1994-1998 ng900s turbos
1999 non-Viggen 9-3s
1994-1998 9000 turbo and non-turbo
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2009, 05:24 AM   #3
Elder
 
VWSAABVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lima Ohio
Posts: 3,061
Send a message via AIM to VWSAABVT
ok what about the 20 mhz ones? I'm trying to grab one for someone with a 99 9-3 and I know that they need the 20 mhz ones to run vs the 16
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stg 5 99 9-3 coupe
96 900se sold
VWSAABVT is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-05-2009, 05:48 AM   #4
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by VWSAABVT View Post
ok what about the 20 mhz ones? I'm trying to grab one for someone with a 99 9-3 and I know that they need the 20 mhz ones to run vs the 16
Not sure what year they changed from 16 to 20mhz, but that was not your original question. You asked what years were T5.5. Some of those years were 16, some were 20, but they are all T5.5 ECUs.

And yes, I suggest using the 20mhz on the cars that should have them. I was running a 16mhz on my 9-3 as an experiment, then my other 20 mhz box wouldn't reflash correctly anymore...so I'm currently stuck with the 16 in there. It seems "dumber."
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2009, 05:56 AM   #5
Moderator
Elder
 
DeLorean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In a compound on a hill
Posts: 7,595
Send a message via AIM to DeLorean
There is no logic to what ones are a 20 MHZ. We were thinking maybe OBD2, but no. Just last week, I pulled 2 core ECU's, one from a 1996 9000-CS, and one from a 1995 9000 CS "super" (Basically a CSE), and the 96 was a 16 mhz, the 95 was a 20.

If you are specifically looking for a 20 MHZ, pull it apart in the junk yard and check before you buy it. That's really the only way to tell. Also, FYI, the T 5.2 cars are usually 20 mhz, but clearly you can't use those on a T5.5 car.
DeLorean is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2009, 11:49 AM   #6
TSLMember
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28
In the US, from what I understand, 97 and up are 20mhz models

The 16mhz models can work in cars that are used to 20mhz as long as they are still running a 16mhz program (its flashed onto them)

Some people have 16mhz ecus running 20mhz programs and vice versa, I one way with no problem the other with a few glitches, though I wouldn't recommend this!

If you open up the ecu you can see if the processors model ends in 20 or 16 and that will be the best way to tell but if you get 97 and up you should be fine!

Just make sure you get a trionic and dont fall for one of those people selling the motronic (non turbo) that you see on ebay all the time!
yoursolace is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.