Nordic Stage 3 Concerns - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2008, 03:34 AM   #1
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
Question Nordic Stage 3 Concerns

Hey Guys,
Last night, I picked up a Nordic Stage 3 ECU for my Viggen on eBay!

Stage 3 Viggen ECU

Conveniently, its in my home town, so I will be able to go pick it up later today, but I have a few concerns...

How important is it for the VIN on the ECU to match the VIN of the car? It, of course, is set-up for his VIN, but he told me the local dealership was the one who set his VIN up... is this possible? I'm afraid they'll just reset it. He actually bought it off someone on SaabCentral Classifieds, and he's selling it because they're getting rid of the car and wanted it back close to stock. He also has a 3.5 Fuel Reg I will be picking up.

I suppose if I have any issues I can send it to GS and have them reflash it with the software I need/my VIN.

Also, can someone please send me the link to some ECU Install Instructions. I know i've seen them pop up somewhere, just not sure where.

I'm very weary about this upgrade, seeing as it has so much importance in the car. I don't want to hurt anything, so any tips, advice, or words of "DON"T DO THAT" are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2008, 04:12 AM   #2
SAAB Road Master
 
mdegracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 331
You will need to take to the stealer or an saab indy to have the unit married to your car's info (i.e., vin, model, year, all that crap).

Remember you will need to drive to the dealer with your original still installed to to do this. You may or may not be able to pull the old ecu and swap at the garage...depends if the mechanic is cool or not. Two torx screws hold it in place - only one is necessary upon reinstall.

Also, don't for get to install your 3.5bar fpr. Note: the vacuum hose probably should be replaced at this point due to deterioration.
mdegracia is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2008, 06:23 AM   #3
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
thanks! hopefully i can pick it up later today, and get this thing up and running
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2008, 05:09 PM   #4
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 211
Do you already have the required 3" exhaust?
__________________
9000 Aero STG 6 + , 900 SET STG 3
lastaero is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2008, 06:59 PM   #5
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastaero View Post
Do you already have the required 3" exhaust?
3" exhaust isn't required, though exhaust is recommended. 2.5" would give the best gains for my application, seeing as i don't plan on going past stage 4

i do however, have the 3" Downpipe Version 2, which includes a 3" intermediate pipe, covering about half of the turbo-back system. Yes there is some restriction beyond that point, but I think I'll be ok until I can afford the exhaust
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2008, 07:23 PM   #6
SAAB Road Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 369
You may want to get the sellers VIN just in case. I don't know if this is necessary, but it may help if the dealer/indy runs into issues with Tech2.
nbndtrain is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2008, 03:42 AM   #7
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
good idea!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2008, 09:06 AM   #8
JZW
Elder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boulder Colorado
Posts: 3,153
Yea, I got the sw link to put in any vin number and get the immobilization code, car specs and wher it was made, etc.

If you give me the vin of a car, I can get the immobilization code and I could also program it in the firmware of the ecu so it would run in you're car.

John
__________________
b234r ng900, E-85 Holset Super [email protected] mph a mile high 645whp/650wtrq Sae Denver
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JZW is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 05:57 AM   #9
Nick Taliaferro
Elder
 
GenuineSaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Springfield, MO USA
Posts: 3,232
Send a message via MSN to GenuineSaab Send a message via Skype™ to GenuineSaab
There are a few different versions of that software about.. What year is the original car?

Just need to use tech2 to immobilize Twice. Very quick. No need to give the file you just purchased to another tuner..

V2 downpipe will be fine.
__________________
Nicholas Taliaferro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2.0 GOOSE 500whp + 8500rpm = 11.06 @125 E85
Viggen 439whp / 447tq 12.43 @114 on Gt2871.64, (Now 511whp Gt3076)
Nordic E85 9-3 SS Aero 320hp / 350ftlbs
GenuineSaab is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 07:02 AM   #10
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Hey did you get the ECU installed yet? I'm glad I was able to "pass the torch," so to speak, of the fastest Saab in town haha.

I drove to the dealership with my glovebox out and had a socket to take the bolt holding the ECU in out. its probably a 7 or 8mm. just be careful pulling the cable off the ECU because that seems like a pretty brittle plastic. I didn't need any other VIN when getting installed, so you should be fine as well. I THINK it came off a 2001, so a perfect match for your car! Worked fine on my '99

Nick, I did open up the box and notice it is definitely programmed via BDM. I always wondered if the major tuners used the same methods or not; and if they had to solder 10 pins to a costly piece of circuitry!! Unfortunately I had no means of actually reading it to compare to stock maps I was hoping to get a head start so when I get back into a Viggen I could go for something higher than that, but I needed money and just had to get rid of it. I'm going to assume the T7Suite maps that come with it should suffice for that, though!
SnowBoArdin58 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 07:13 AM   #11
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
thanks nick!

andrew,
haha... yes, pass the torch i saw that on ebay and saw the location and knew it was yours. sorry you had to sell the car, thats a bummer

haven't installed it yet, the service dept at the dealer wasn't open on saturday/sunday, so i'm going to make an appointment this week to see if they can do it. hope they don't charge me it should be really easy for them seeing as i have it in a box on hand, rather than plugged into the car.

i'll let you guys know how it goes
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:05 AM   #12
Elder
 
jssaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmo View Post

hope they don't charge me it should be really easy for them seeing as i have it in a box on hand, rather than plugged into the car.

i'll let you guys know how it goes

How's that? The dealer can only work on the ECU through the OBD and Tech II so it will need to be in the car to marry...
jssaab is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:12 AM   #13
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
really?
i guess i was confused then... i was under the impression they had to remove the ECU to do any tuning. but you're saying it has to actually be plugged in to the car to make changes via Tech II? i didn't know they needed to use OBD, i assumed they could plug right into the ECU...makes sense though. in that case i can see them charging me

... damn
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:18 AM   #14
Nick Taliaferro
Elder
 
GenuineSaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Springfield, MO USA
Posts: 3,232
Send a message via MSN to GenuineSaab Send a message via Skype™ to GenuineSaab
Goes like this..

Put parts on car.. Regulator etc. Get ecu read but not out
Drive to dealer, easy no long WOT pulls.
They can plug new ecu in and contact TWICE and PROGRAM immobilizer. That is all. IF car no start just unplug and replug trionic otherwise they can clear t7 codes. Sometimes has immob failure code in t7 during programming.

Takes 15 min max. But a very expensive tool so who knows how much they charge. Just make sure they know all that has to be done is in twice.. Nothing in t7.
__________________
Nicholas Taliaferro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2.0 GOOSE 500whp + 8500rpm = 11.06 @125 E85
Viggen 439whp / 447tq 12.43 @114 on Gt2871.64, (Now 511whp Gt3076)
Nordic E85 9-3 SS Aero 320hp / 350ftlbs
GenuineSaab is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:24 AM   #15
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
so i can lightly drive the car with the fuel reg and no tune? that surprises me...

Nick, how are those T7 intake pipes coming?

thanks a bunch, you've been very helpful!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:29 AM   #16
Nick Taliaferro
Elder
 
GenuineSaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Springfield, MO USA
Posts: 3,232
Send a message via MSN to GenuineSaab Send a message via Skype™ to GenuineSaab
I worked late last week to get the flanges machined so he could tackle them today. They will be trickling out 1 or 2 a day early this week.

With more fuel press it will just run a little rich.. Not a horrible thing but as you drive it more it makes a mess with the fuel trims and transient enrichment.
__________________
Nicholas Taliaferro

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2.0 GOOSE 500whp + 8500rpm = 11.06 @125 E85
Viggen 439whp / 447tq 12.43 @114 on Gt2871.64, (Now 511whp Gt3076)
Nordic E85 9-3 SS Aero 320hp / 350ftlbs
GenuineSaab is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 09:44 AM   #17
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
thanks for working late on them, i really appreciate it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 10:31 AM   #18
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Just make sure you make an appointment, or at the very least, make sure they know you are coming in for a ten minute max, purely Tech-II job. Have everything ready to go.. then a tech will just have you unplug the stock ECU and plug back in the Nordic box and they will hook the Tech-II up through the OBD-II port under the steering wheel and change the immobiliser codes so everything matched up with TWICE. Good to go. It may die the first time you try to start ot or even idle funny for a second. Don't worry.. just rev it a little(not like high revs, just keeo the motor going; this happened when I had the stock ECU put in and the FPR was still in). The car will adapt/initialize and be good to go!

You are seriously going to be amazed. We still need to meet up.. maybe I'll bring a Vig-Vert and we can have a get together. There is another '99 in town.. my friend got one after liking mine so much. So another Lightning Blue coupe is likely Brian. He wants to tune but is going to save his money since I redused to straight up give him my Nordic box. I need to ride in your car though.. should be a little quicker than mine with your inlet pipe and should be able to hold longer since I never installed my larger intercooler. by the way my number is 616 334 9747 if ya ever need to get ahold of me. Might be home this next weekend but otherwise I'm here in East Lansing.
SnowBoArdin58 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 10:51 AM   #19
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
yeah... I have been trying to call the dealer all afternoon to set up an appointment, but they're not answering/calling me back.

I'm down for a saab meet sometime... i'll be back in GR this weekend if you do happen to be around. I'll give you a call and we'll figure something out.

Thanks again to everyone for all the help... I can't wait to get this thing in action
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2008, 01:18 PM   #20
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
you're keeping that interior nice and clean, right? haha your car has one of the nicest interiors I've seen. Besides brand new ones, it'd have to go to your car and a 2000 my Dad bought for parts. 90K miles but the interior is like BRAND NEW. It would NOT suprise me if they were replacement parts inside there.
SnowBoArdin58 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.