How to cam install? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2008, 10:02 AM   #1
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
How to cam install?

So I am thinking T5 cams down the road. Anyone have a good write-up on how to go about this? Is this worth it for running on the stock TD04? Inquiring minds want to know.
__________________
Vitamin SAAB

Last edited by liketheword; 01-17-2008 at 10:12 AM.
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2008, 10:38 AM   #2
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Its easy cheesy. Pull the valve cover, zip tie the cam wheels securly to the timing chain to retain the correct orientation on the chain, remove the cam wheels from the cam, remove the cam keepers, pull the cam out, put new cam in, put the cam keepers back on (being sure that you have the same keepers in the same places and being sure to put the correct bolts back in the same hole they came out of. Put it back together in the order you removed it...

There are torque settings too, but I don't know them off the top of my head.

Its also a good idea to throw a new valve cover gasket in there while you're at it.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 10:44 AM   #3
Moderator
Elder
 
Tweek's Turbos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 10,303
Send a message via AIM to Tweek's Turbos
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
and being sure to put the correct bolts back in the same hole they came out of. Put it back together in the order you removed it...

Yeah, certain bolts are channeld out for oiling.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean
- pretend you are watering delicate plants...
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAABseanSCANIA
can be prone to failure due to increased localized stresses in the hole penetrations
Tweek's Turbos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-17-2008, 12:59 PM   #4
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
SAAB9-3USA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bloomington MN
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via MSN to SAAB9-3USA
if you want a set of t5 cams i may have some after i get my taxes back. want some t5 pistons to?

i give you a deal on them to
__________________
Quote:
Deek ur a funny little f***** arent you b****
SAAB9-3USA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #5
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
I figured since I need to do the valve cover gasket it's a might as well sort of scenario regarding the cams. Provided it is a fairly easy procedure. As it seems to be. (I have the classic front driver side slow oil leek from the valve cover.)

T5 cams eh? T5 pistons eh? Will the pistons swap into my b205r block? I have asked this question before w/o a reply. It makes sense that they would, but then again maybe someone knows something I don't...
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:09 PM   #6
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
No clue if they fit or not (they will "fit" for sure, but I don't know about valve interference with the differences in the T5 and T7 heads...)

Either way you'll have to take the engine all the way apart if you want to attempt that sort of thing.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:15 PM   #7
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
No clue if they fit or not (they will "fit" for sure, but I don't know about valve interference with the differences in the T5 and T7 heads...)

Either way you'll have to take the engine all the way apart if you want to attempt that sort of thing.
I figured that there might be the case of interference. Due to altered deck height and valve operation differences between the two.

Sounds like only the cams would be really worth the trouble. The question is how much of a difference do they actually make? I realize it opens-up the top-end where my current ones run out of steam rather quickly. What sort of RPM differences are we talking here?
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:17 PM   #8
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
SAAB9-3USA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bloomington MN
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via MSN to SAAB9-3USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post

Either way you'll have to take the engine all the way apart if you want to attempt that sort of thing.
Do a full refresh, add a 18t turbo. Get about 285-290 whp sounds good to me
and plus tearing apart engines is fun
__________________
Quote:
Deek ur a funny little f***** arent you b****
SAAB9-3USA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:18 PM   #9
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
talk is cheap and easy.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:18 PM   #10
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAAB9-3USA View Post
Do a full refresh, add a 18t turbo. Get about 285-290 whp sounds good to me
and plus tearing apart engines is fun
Bah!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
talk is cheap and easy.
Agreed!

A extra T5 block on hand to do these sorts of things to would be better if you go that far. Call it "old man" logic/wisdom.
__________________
Vitamin SAAB

Last edited by liketheword; 01-17-2008 at 01:19 PM. Reason: To include JK's post as a qoute :D
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:20 PM   #11
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 896
theres a dyno sheet somewhere on the site and it was like 35 more whp
jonny72888 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:20 PM   #12
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
SAAB9-3USA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bloomington MN
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via MSN to SAAB9-3USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
talk is cheap and easy.
very cheap.
__________________
Quote:
Deek ur a funny little f***** arent you b****
SAAB9-3USA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:21 PM   #13
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny72888 View Post
theres a dyno sheet somewhere on the site and it was like 35 more whp
Wha?

Pictures or it didn't happen!
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:23 PM   #14
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketheword View Post
Wha?

Pictures or it didn't happen!
No shit! I don't believe for a second that T5 cams in a T7 will lead to even a 15hp increase.

Maybe jonny is confusing the T5 cams with the Enem cams - very big difference!
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:25 PM   #15
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
No shit! I don't believe for a second that T5 cams in a T7 will lead to even a 15hp increase.

Maybe jonny is confusing the T5 cams with the Enem cams - very big difference!
They better offer a sizable gain for the amount of *ching* they cost!

Again pics for prof.

I am expecting like 5hp gain.
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 01:46 PM   #16
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
No shit! I don't believe for a second that T5 cams in a T7 will lead to even a 15hp increase.

Maybe jonny is confusing the T5 cams with the Enem cams - very big difference!
oh... sorry i thought we were talking about some 268 cams
https://saablink.net/forum/showthread...409#post365409
jonny72888 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 02:17 PM   #17
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny72888 View Post
oh... sorry i thought we were talking about some 268 cams
https://saablink.net/forum/showthread...409#post365409
Dunno how you thought that with T5 being all over the place.

It's Ok to make a mistake.

Just own-up to it man style.
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 03:25 PM   #18
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketheword View Post
Dunno how you thought that with T5 being all over the place.

It's Ok to make a mistake.

Just own-up to it man style.
i saw t5 but i thought he was talking about the car, i didnt see that he had a t7 so i just thought everyone was talking about aftermarket cams and not swaping t5 and t7.

my mistake
jonny72888 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2008, 03:57 PM   #19
Elder
 
132417SAAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: nashua, NH
Posts: 3,937
so generaly you dont need to worry about a tune if the t7 motor is stock? (in my case for example it would be a 99 vig fyi) why would you want swap in t5 cams in the first place?
__________________
99 9-3 se
91 Plantana Grey Carlson 9k

This is my car, and it's for me. This is not for you


132417saab™©
AKA "numbers"
132417SAAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright © The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.