The N/A manifold - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2007, 12:01 PM   #1
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
The N/A manifold

I know I have posted this else where, but you guys seem to be more hard core. Besides me and brewtide does anyone have an opinion of that intake? I want to run that thing but I am worried about my A/F being all kinds of fuckered up. Is it groovy or hokie? On a side note I think it is funny that all of us SAAB people are such a small group that we are on multiple forums and it is the same group of jerks. Thread numerono uno.
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2007, 12:26 PM   #2
Deez Nutz
Site ModeratorElder
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheese Country
Posts: 15,679
Send a message via AIM to Palmer
Hey, I like this guy!


I don't know about the manifold though.
__________________
S55/LC100/KL
Palmer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 12:34 PM   #3
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
if you are looking for more torque and less peak hp then its for you. i dont think the a/f would be too buggered up, but im sure you could get a tune for it too.



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-03-2007, 12:46 PM   #4
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabkid37 View Post
if you are looking for more torque and less peak hp then its for you. i dont think the a/f would be too buggered up, but im sure you could get a tune for it too.
From who? who gives a tune that counts for it?
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 12:49 PM   #5
Deez Nutz
Site ModeratorElder
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheese Country
Posts: 15,679
Send a message via AIM to Palmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corn Cob View Post
From who? who gives a tune that counts for it?

Anyone that does a "custom tune", so bring you wallet..


Automotion for example...they do "custom tunes".
__________________
S55/LC100/KL
Palmer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 12:55 PM   #6
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
troll_speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montreal - Fly internationally
Posts: 1,074
Jak already told me to just order the mailbox tune, dyno it, send him results and he would re-map if needed.

Costs bucks to send and re-send from Canada....



sigh
__________________
Chris



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
troll_speed is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 03:12 PM   #7
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
sure pay $550 for a tune, then put it on a dyno more dollars just to realise it is shit. Send the resalts to Jak so he can make a tune for $200. If he knows you will need a custom tune, then he also knows you will need him just make me pay like $600 and call it a day. We all know to tune an ECU all they need to do is plug it into the compuer
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 03:20 PM   #8
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
so pick a tuner you can drive to and do it. although it wont cost you just 600 bucks.



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 04:17 PM   #9
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Yeah I know, and plus anybody would be a good drive for me since I live in Ohio, or as I call it the land that cool forgot. Unless you are an old school punk and newwaver then we rule, Devo, Pere ubu, the dead boys, newbomb turks, the pagans, the singer of the cramps is an ohioan. Plus more resent less cool in my opinion people like tool, nine inch nails, the presedents of the united states of america(1990's version of the dead milkmen but not as good) filter. And maybe cracker but for some reason I think I might be wronge with that one. Plus
cracker kicks ass so if I am wronge it doesn't matter anyway I hate my generation is a rockin' song! Totally off topic but come to think of it ohio fuckin' rocks. Suck my ass New York! L.A. or where ever!

P.S. I forgot lots of other cool bands, believe Ohio does rock!
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 04:24 PM   #10
Elder
 
NahumCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 9,197
Send a message via AIM to NahumCC Send a message via MSN to NahumCC Send a message via Yahoo to NahumCC
Actually if its your first tune and your getting adjustments to it based on your data tracking results from the dyno most of the tuners will do a free adjustment. The second charge that tuners apply for retunes is say you've been running a td04 and goto a GT30 style setup. Then thats true retune.

P.S. I like this guy to Palmer.



__________________
2013 FR-S

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NahumCC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 04:27 PM   #11
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corn Cob View Post
sure pay $550 for a tune, then put it on a dyno more dollars just to realise it is shit. Send the resalts to Jak so he can make a tune for $200. If he knows you will need a custom tune, then he also knows you will need him just make me pay like $600 and call it a day. We all know to tune an ECU all they need to do is plug it into the compuer
from what I know if you order a tuned ecu from Jak you take it to the dyno and send him the results and a/f # and he will optimize the tune without charging you anything extra
jota69 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 04:29 PM   #12
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
All you need to know:
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=113005

It's covered quite well.
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 06:36 PM   #13
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by liketheword View Post
All you need to know:
http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=113005

It's covered quite well.
read your link then my first post, note that the screen names are the same. I was just wanting more info. Which I got thanks everyone, I didn't know they would give me a free tune if I sent them dyno numbers that info is golden. Thanks guys I knew you would pull through!
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 08:53 PM   #14
Elder
 
liketheword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ya sure you betcha!
Posts: 2,910
Send a message via MSN to liketheword Send a message via Yahoo to liketheword
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corn Cob View Post
read your link then my first post, note that the screen names are the same. I was just wanting more info. Which I got thanks everyone, I didn't know they would give me a free tune if I sent them dyno numbers that info is golden. Thanks guys I knew you would pull through!
LOL. Crap didn't notice. I am the same to...
__________________
Vitamin SAAB
liketheword is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 12:49 PM   #15
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
So if I had to dyno the car then send resaults how much does a dyno run cost?
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 01:46 PM   #16
Elder
 
NahumCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 9,197
Send a message via AIM to NahumCC Send a message via MSN to NahumCC Send a message via Yahoo to NahumCC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corn Cob View Post
So if I had to dyno the car then send resaults how much does a dyno run cost?
Depends on the shop. Nick does 3 pulls for 95 bucks with basic data tracking. Expect about 90 bucks normally for 3 pulls and then figure extra to have extra info logged such as wideband A/F, intake temps, etc....



__________________
2013 FR-S

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NahumCC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 02:41 PM   #17
Elder
 
NickTurbo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greater Burlington, Vermont
Posts: 4,023
I drove an NA manifold swapped b204 /w Td04 back to back pre and post install. Sweet car, brewtide.

It felt great. Much more drivable than the stock with the torque undoubtedly available faster off boost, down low. Maybe the Td04 was counterbalance, but higher up I didn't notice a decrease in power. It wouldn't matter to me if I lost power in the top of the range. I have to drive my car everyday and the speed limits are low enough with out winding out 3rd to 6500 rpm.

I would really like to hear some of you talk about the 2.3 turbo (b234) with a 94-98 900S N/A manifold. This will be my configuration and after all the work I think a custom tune will be unavoidable to play it 'safe'.
NickTurbo900 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 04:53 PM   #18
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
SAAB9-3USA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bloomington MN
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via MSN to SAAB9-3USA
i thought i read somewhere that it really screws up the a/f ratio i think nick has it on the nira car
__________________
Quote:
Deek ur a funny little f***** arent you b****
SAAB9-3USA is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 05:15 PM   #19
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 34
Nick does have it on the nira car, he said it did mess up the A/F ratios. He wouldn't say what they did though. If it makes it go rich I don't care, if it goes lean then we have a problem. Look at the link Liketheword put up of my thread on SC it has Nick's response. Brewtide was supposed to put his car on a dyno this weekend so hopefully he will chime in with some nuggets of knowledge.
Corn Cob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 04:28 AM   #20
Moderator
Elder
 
Tweek's Turbos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 10,303
Send a message via AIM to Tweek's Turbos
I am going to put one on the motor I am building. I will order software that should hopefully account for it. I will then imediatly have wide band dynoing done, then possibly send the ecu back to be redone. I will also plan a road trip to get the car personally tuned on the million dollar dyno when its safe for a long trip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delorean
- pretend you are watering delicate plants...
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAABseanSCANIA
can be prone to failure due to increased localized stresses in the hole penetrations
Tweek's Turbos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.