Another n/a turbo swap - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2007, 09:59 AM   #1
Avid TSL User
 
mr.jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toughkenamon, PA
Posts: 293
Another n/a turbo swap

I was considering putting the fuel control module from a n/a 2.3l onto my turbo 2.0l. My idea was that it should supply slightly more fuel and allow me to add more boost without leaning out. Does anyone have access to the fuel maps for the two different fuel control modules. I would like to compare and contrast before swapping them and blowing something up.
mr.jenkins is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-22-2007, 10:02 AM   #2
Elder
 
NickTurbo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greater Burlington, Vermont
Posts: 4,023
hahahhahaA! funny


I'm tired today, anyone else want to do this one?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTurbo900 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 10:16 AM   #3
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,700
I highly doubt this plan will work. The ecu might give it enough gas while idling.. but a 2.0 turbo is going to use alot more gas underboost then a n/a 2.3 will ever use.

try it and report back.
__________________
Stage: power back on the road
fieldsc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-22-2007, 10:19 AM   #4
Elder
 
NickTurbo900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greater Burlington, Vermont
Posts: 4,023
^ thanks

also, bosch motronic vs trionic ?

Don't try it. Props for thinking outside the box though... but yeah, it will not work
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTurbo900 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 10:25 AM   #5
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,700
Oh yea, forgot n/a 9ks didnt use T5. I doubt the box would even plug in then.
__________________
Stage: power back on the road
fieldsc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 10:36 AM   #6
Elder
 
amish_geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Yumping a Swedish Model
Posts: 4,098
Send a message via AIM to amish_geek Send a message via MSN to amish_geek
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.jenkins View Post
I was considering putting the fuel control module from a n/a 2.3l onto my turbo 2.0l. My idea was that it should supply slightly more fuel and allow me to add more boost without leaning out. Does anyone have access to the fuel maps for the two different fuel control modules. I would like to compare and contrast before swapping them and blowing something up.
Turbos work because boost (adding more air) allows you to add more fuel to make more power.

The fuel control module from a NA car will not provide enough fuel for running boost.
__________________
DVNO, Four Capital Letters, Written in Gold
amish_geek is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 11:15 AM   #7
Elder
 
Marks9-3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central, CT
Posts: 3,348
Send a message via AIM to Marks9-3
Quote:
Originally Posted by amish_geek View Post
The fuel control module from a NA car will not provide enough fuel for running boost.
Pretty much regardless of the displacement differences.
__________________
'96 900SE Stg 4 RIP | '97 900SE Gone | '98 900SE Gone |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| '02 9-5 Aero | '04 9-5 Aero Stg 3
Marks9-3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 02:37 PM   #8
Avid TSL User
 
mr.jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toughkenamon, PA
Posts: 293
So much for that brilliant idea. Thanks for all the input.
mr.jenkins is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 03:30 PM   #9
a12
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
a12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: connecticut
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.jenkins View Post
So much for that brilliant idea. Thanks for all the input.
Are you running an mbc yet?
__________________
Reinforced rear axle completed and installed!
a12 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2007, 03:34 PM   #10
Elder
 
AeroDynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington State
Posts: 6,912
Send a message via AIM to AeroDynamic
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTurbo900 View Post
hahahhahaA! funny


I'm tired today, anyone else want to do this one?
__________________
WHATS YOUR ALTITUDE?
510whp @18psi @5600rpm's "600HP or parts on the floor"
AeroDynamic is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2007, 08:32 AM   #11
Avid TSL User
 
mr.jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toughkenamon, PA
Posts: 293
Yes, I have a MBC installed but haven't really messed with it much
mr.jenkins is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.