Fuel setups for "big" HP - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3

Performance Modifications for the NG900 / Old 9-3 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the NG900 and 9-3. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2016, 04:46 AM   #1
Elder
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 2,522
Send a message via ICQ to g96nt Send a message via AIM to g96nt Send a message via MSN to g96nt Send a message via Yahoo to g96nt
Fuel setups for "big" HP

Just looking for some advice, here.
I've ordered most of what I need, and the 9000 has the fuel pump and injectors that I'll use in the 9-3, but I'm curious- based on my experience with DSMs. Do "we" just drop the pump in, and leave the stock wiring/fuel lines alone?

There's no need to run a beefier power feed to the fuel pump for the higher load?

Maybe this is already common practice? or is the stock wiring good-enough?


For reference:
Fuel pump rewire


For the fuel lines- I assume they're big-enough. They certainly seem large-enough to handle a high volume. are the check valves a big bottle-neck?
Is there a need to open the valves and the holes in the top of the fuel sender?
__________________
Craig R.
2008 9-5 Aero-1995 900T 'vert
g96nt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2016, 11:28 AM   #2
Elder
 
Drew in Houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: PA/MD
Posts: 2,430
I've kind of wondered the same thing myself. On my 400whp (or so) 19t setup I'm running deka 875's with a Bosch -044 in the tank, plugged the stock outlet connection, and ran an -AN bulkhead fitting through the top of the cap. Then ran braided hose with an -AN to metric banjo to go to the stock fuel filter in the stock location. That works well, without the check valve I just pause a second before engaging the starter motor to let the pump purge any air.

My brother's Viggen also 875's but with GTX3076, he used an in tank -044 but kept all the factory stuff. He's probably making a 100 more hp at least That works too.

To know for sure you'd have to watch your fuel pressure and look for too much fall off, or tuning wise you'll just eventually run out of enrichment adjustment--where you increase injector duty cycle and it won't get richer, or you just can't adjust values any higher, and at that point you'll know you have too much restriction somewhere.
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.
Drew in Houston is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2016, 11:43 AM   #3
Elder
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 2,522
Send a message via ICQ to g96nt Send a message via AIM to g96nt Send a message via MSN to g96nt Send a message via Yahoo to g96nt
That's actually pretty smart.
The fuel line looks to be up to the task. I like the idea of skipping the check valves and eliminating that (potential) bottle-neck and going right for the fuel filter.
I assume you use the stock return, right?
Have any pictures of the setup?
Did you use factory wiring?
__________________
Craig R.
2008 9-5 Aero-1995 900T 'vert
g96nt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2016, 11:51 AM   #4
Elder
 
Drew in Houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: PA/MD
Posts: 2,430
Yep, stock return. Sorry, no pictures, I did it a few years ago. I got the bulkhead fitting and stuff from Summit Racing. Also stock wiring--which I'm not convinced is such a great idea, but fuses exist and are sized to protect wiring (generally), if the OEM did a good job sizing things and the factory fuse ratings aren't exceeded, it should be safe I guess..
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.
Drew in Houston is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.