I need T5 stuff ASAP: Shut up and take my money! (LONG) - Page 3 - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab Classic 900 Forum '78-'93 > Performance Modifications for the Classic 900

Performance Modifications for the Classic 900 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the Classic 900. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2012, 09:11 PM   #41
TSLMember
 
99sven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 99
Hey Joe,

I am in the process of doing my second T5 after wrecking my black 88 this winter at the ski area. I am running an Innovate wide band right into the Saab ecu via pin 69. I just hook it up for tuning purposes. But....as Mike D. and I both discovered, the stock o2 sesnsor and the wide band are pretty close. I can show you how to program the lap top in t5 suite to read the wide band. Should be dropping the engine in this weekend and hopefully have it up and running in a few weeks max. (fingers crossed). Would not be a problem to come round and help you out with you install. I have been waiting for years for some other NW saabers to go T5. With Daniel in Portland and you in Seattle we can now form a support group! Good luck and let me know if I can help. Mike D is a wizard with T5 despite his self deprecation. He is on the wrong coast however. Gregg. greggcronn at gmail dot com
99sven is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #42
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
IJ, have you gotten it fired up again yet? i know you wanted to get it running and back t home base.

Mike d
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 03:45 AM   #43
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
spgeebee88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athol, MA
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to spgeebee88
yea...i spoke to Miked about this issue a while back, its something about the Kethg mod you have to do in the box that back feeds voltage into the ms, my spg has been doing the same thing from day 1 the injectors would "chatter" and my fuel pump/main relays would buzz, as a quick fix i put a battery cut off on it behind the passenger seat that i shut off when i turn the car off. i really think to do it right the car needs to be rewired to a more conventional set up..... iam still fighting with it by my car isn't on the road and i plan on trailering it to events so it hasn't been a big deal
spgeebee88 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-26-2012, 07:26 AM   #44
Elder
 
IronJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
IJ, have you gotten it fired up again yet? i know you wanted to get it running and back t home base.

Mike d
Nah, change of plans. I decided to keep it at my parents house and do the conversion there. So MS is already getting ripped out and the next time this car moves under it's own power, it'll be on T5!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spgeebee88 View Post
yea...i spoke to Miked about this issue a while back, its something about the Kethg mod you have to do in the box that back feeds voltage into the ms, my spg has been doing the same thing from day 1 the injectors would "chatter" and my fuel pump/main relays would buzz, as a quick fix i put a battery cut off on it behind the passenger seat that i shut off when i turn the car off. i really think to do it right the car needs to be rewired to a more conventional set up..... iam still fighting with it by my car isn't on the road and i plan on trailering it to events so it hasn't been a big deal
F'n scary. This is unacceptable for a street car.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
^ IronJoe doesn't park, he lands.
IronJoe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 03:33 PM   #45
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Shoreline WA USA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJoe View Post
Nah, change of plans. I decided to keep it at my parents house and do the conversion there. So MS is already getting ripped out and the next time this car moves under it's own power, it'll be on T5!

F'n scary. This is unacceptable for a street car.
Unacceptable for a track car too. In the name of safety, you might not be able to reach the switch if you were to be in an accident. If the engine stops turning the injectors should de-energize (close) and the fuel pump stop pumping.
squaab99t is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2012, 02:33 PM   #46
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
When i did my car, i cheated a little bit, and wired the fuel pump into the ignition switch.

Lots of older race cars had toggle switchs controlling major electrical pieces. Seamed to work ok for them.
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2012, 03:28 PM   #47
Elder
 
Castor Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 3,998
the only time i've heard of this happening is low impedance injectors on an ecu setup for high impedance injectors.
__________________
^The preceeding post probably had something to do with Seth Romer.
Castor Troy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2012, 11:01 AM   #48
Elder
 
IronJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,252
Mike D is a genuine stand up guy.


I got his care package in the mail yesterday - I have a T5 ECU flashed with the map I asked for, injectors, and some stickers He put this together himself and paid for shipping and everything.

Thanks so much man. You are a credit to this community!!


Now that the SPG is back on the road I can focus on the T5 conversion. Thanks again everyone who is helping me!!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
^ IronJoe doesn't park, he lands.
IronJoe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2012, 11:10 AM   #49
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Glen Mills, PA (Phila)
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
Lots of older race cars had toggle switchs controlling major electrical pieces. Seamed to work ok for them.
Most of them had full electrical kill switches in the cockpit tho, no?
BuHuSPG is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2012, 09:45 AM   #50
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Shoreline WA USA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuHuSPG View Post
Most of them had full electrical kill switches in the cockpit tho, no?
And on the outside with an E sticker to help the course workers find it.
When I said reach, I really met that you had your wits about you, physical ability, and had conciseness after an accident.
squaab99t is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2012, 05:18 AM   #51
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJoe View Post
Mike D is a genuine stand up guy.


I got his care package in the mail yesterday - I have a T5 ECU flashed with the map I asked for, injectors, and some stickers He put this together himself and paid for shipping and everything.

Thanks so much man. You are a credit to this community!!

Dont worry about it, just get your old MS stuff mailed back ASAP
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 09:27 AM   #52
Elder
 
IronJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,252
T5 harness is in progress. Hopefully getting the last of the hardware I need soon (at least to get it running). Eventually I'll need the 3bar MAP and a CANUSB cable which I don't have yet.

Thanks to everyone who has helped me thus far. Your TSL screen names will be forever tattooed on my firewall (not kidding)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
^ IronJoe doesn't park, he lands.

Last edited by IronJoe; 07-11-2012 at 09:31 AM.
IronJoe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #53
Elder
 
DrewP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJoe View Post
Your TSL screen names will be forever tattooed on my firewall (not kidding)

Now there's an idea of taking nerdiness to a whole new level. I like it.
__________________
(Former) Saab Tech / Competition Prep

Quote:
You still don't understand. This is like trying to explain calculus to a clam.
DrewP is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2012, 03:08 PM   #54
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Shoreline WA USA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJoe View Post
T5 harness is in progress. Hopefully getting the last of the hardware I need soon (at least to get it running). Eventually I'll need the 3bar MAP and a CANUSB cable which I don't have yet.

Thanks to everyone who has helped me thus far. Your TSL screen names will be forever tattooed on my firewall (not kidding)
Still need a CPS kit and trigger wheel? Rallyho tried the flywheel route and it was a no-go. Week later he installed mine and he is running in a stage rally.
squaab99t is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2012, 10:07 AM   #55
Elder
 
IronJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,252
Picked up a 89+ speedo cable yesterday. I talked with Nate (thank you btw) about the speed sensor stuff, and I really would like to use the Trionic "boost per gear" feature. Something I always wanted in MS but never installed/configured.


Picking up a new T5 coolant temp sensor today. The only other hardware piece I need is a stock pre-OBDII o2 sensor, if anybody has one they can part with. The local yards here only had a '96 car which is OBDII.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
^ IronJoe doesn't park, he lands.
IronJoe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2012, 10:40 AM   #56
Elder
 
Cark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newfound Lake, NH
Posts: 3,603
Send a message via AIM to Cark
Why can you not use a 96+ 02 sensor?

Must be dependent on which year T5 harness you get?
__________________
08 9-5 Aero S/C
85 900 turbo - T5

Last edited by Cark; 07-27-2012 at 10:43 AM.
Cark is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2012, 01:07 PM   #57
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJoe View Post

Picking up a new T5 coolant temp sensor today. The only other hardware piece I need is a stock pre-OBDII o2 sensor, if anybody has one they can part with. The local yards here only had a '96 car which is OBDII.
I found out that early 90's 5.0 mustangs used the same O2 sensor as pre OBDII saabs, just have to splice in the correct wiring. The best thing about them is, brand new bosch ones cost around 50 bucks. I used this on my SPG.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2012, 01:42 PM   #58
Elder
 
Cark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newfound Lake, NH
Posts: 3,603
Send a message via AIM to Cark
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-the-kid View Post
I found out that early 90's 5.0 mustangs used the same O2 sensor as pre OBDII saabs, just have to splice in the correct wiring. The best thing about them is, brand new bosch ones cost around 50 bucks. I used this on my SPG.
Yup, have used them in the past... I think they are more or less considered "universal". Although technically I believe soldering in a connector on the 02 sensor is considered a big no no.

After all, all 02 sensors (with the exception of wideband) do the same thing, some have a preheater and some don't... they just have different connectors wired onto them, and that is what you often times end up paying big bucks for. Seems pretty ridiculous to me.
__________________
08 9-5 Aero S/C
85 900 turbo - T5
Cark is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2012, 07:35 AM   #59
Elder
 
IronJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,252
I just need one simply to get the car going. I wan to eliminate as many variables as possible for trying to get it to run initially.

I will still be using my wide band but I will wait to set that up.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
^ IronJoe doesn't park, he lands.
IronJoe is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2012, 05:15 PM   #60
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Nate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,017
I kept the stock c900 oxygen sensor. I just made an adapter cable to hook it into the T5 harness.
Nate is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.