Saab fastest at PCA track day, (long) - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9000 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9000

Performance Modifications for the 9000 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the Saab 9000. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
Avid TSL User

Saab fastest at PCA track day, (long)

Our spring Porsche Club of America (PCA) track day brought out nearly 60 cars despite over 2 inches of rain over the weekend.
I am a PCA driving instructor so I assisted in track setup on friday and drove students cars and instructed students students for over three hours each day in serious rain conditions.
In addition I put over 350 miles of track time on my Saab 9000 in the instructor group and advanced run groups. We are allowed unlimited passing in the instructor group so it was knuckle bitting conditions for sure in the rain.
We did get about three full on 25 minute sessions in the dry Sunday afternoon. But driving at least 10 hours in the rain at speeds up to 130 mph was something I will never forget.
By the way at those speeds Rain X is all you need, hardly never turned on the wipers.
I was about a second faster than the second fastest cars when the track finally dried out. I ran base boost, 12psi for all the rain sessions and the car still seemed rediculously fast.
Ran it up to about 15 psi as the track dried out.
JZW's tune I got last year with the 3.5 bar map sensor has more timing and really lets the car run just as fast on lower boost.
I am working on some turbo upgrades but primarily just to get a little more at high rpm's and not just more HP. The car is pretty well balanced now.
The 4.45 final drive (now in the car since 2002, for all you new converterts) hits the redline of 7000 at the end of our long back section. This is somewhere around 140Mph.