T5 Plug & Play Conversion - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9000 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9000

Performance Modifications for the 9000 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the Saab 9000. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2009, 06:03 AM   #1
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
T5 Plug & Play Conversion

Here's my DIY to convert your DI/APC to T5 plug & play style.

My car's a 91 9000 Turbo and the T5 harness is from a 95 9000 Turbo. I have yet to attach it to the motor, cause my pistons are out to get coated, so will have to update once it actually works.

I went this route of using plugs from other harnesses to make a harness which can be removed easily and can be adapted to another car with very minimal work. You can just use your existing plugs or just tap into whatever wire if you'd like. My way there are only three wires that I have to tap into (BCV GRN/RED --- Purge Valve YEL/RED --- Switched Ignition --- BRN/WHT)
they are covered inside. You can use your existing Speed Sensor since it is attached directly to the Instrument Cluster. You will need to get a CPS (Crankshaft Position Sensor) and you will have to install a Timing wheel. There are a few threads on this:

https://www.saablink.net/forum/showth...t=28125&page=5
https://www.saablink.net/forum/showthread.php?t=33456

**I would strongly strongly suggest using the grey plug which connects to the T5 harness. It will make your job incredibly easy.**

From the list of wires coming from the Grey Plug, There are a few which I did not tap into:

#10 Blu/Wht - Diagnosis
#18 Wht - Engine Torque Limitation
#20 Grn/Wht - Can Bus (Small Plug)
#33 Wht - Brake Light Switch (might use this one, not sure yet)
#39 Grn/Wht - Cruise Control
#49 Grn/Red - A/C Out
#50 Grn/Wht - A/C In

If anything changes, I will update the thread.

MikeD helped me out on a few things, so big thanks bud.
I've spent many many hours and days studying all these diagrams and wiring. Now with this DIY you can probably have your car T5'ed within only a few hours. Enjoy

Adam


Diagram of 91 9000

[IMG][/IMG]

Diagrams of 95 9000

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]




Harness used (95 9000)



[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]






**Uses a different type Coolant Temp Sensor**
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]





**Just use your existing speed sensor, cause 95+ use this type of plug**
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by adshaft; 06-15-2009 at 07:23 AM.
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-14-2009, 06:03 AM   #2
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Onto the good stuff:

I think the pictures will tell you all you need to know.



[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]


***update***
Siliconed the Fuel ECU plug & tapped into the purge and switched ignition wires located in the main harness near the battery tray.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Still have some little things to do like siliconing the Fuel ECU plug, taping off the harness etc... Will update accordingly.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by adshaft; 06-22-2009 at 06:02 AM.
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2009, 06:38 PM   #3
Elder
 
Green9kAERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 4,187
good stuff!!!!
__________________
Quote:
I heard Tom Had a 2 pump dump on his injector duty cycle....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Green9kAERO is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-15-2009, 06:03 AM   #4
Elder
 
tuner4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,211
Looks awesome, I'll have to have my tame wiring expert look at it to see If he can do this. Have you thought about making these to sell?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-Jason

1986 Saab 900 Turbo & 1992 Saab 9000 Turbo
tuner4life is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 06:34 AM   #5
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Thanks guys, it's kinda time consuming to make, don't have time to market them. Still gotta see if it works though, with my luck the ignition will turn and.........nothing. Haha hope I'm wrong.:
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2009, 11:52 PM   #6
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 451
That's whicked cool you'd probably be the first guy doing a plug and play set up you should advertise it. I just want to know what are you doing with your old DI/APC box and the LH ecu I've been looking for them because I have an extra motor sitting on the side but I really can't do anything without the computers I need would you be willing to part them.
SS929k is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2009, 03:30 AM   #7
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
They were sacrificed for this project. I actually only needed the Fuel ECU (located in the aquarium) to be sacrificed, but it was trial and error. Don't know if I have any left, if I do I will PM you.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2009, 08:38 AM   #8
Elder
 
Green9kAERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 4,187
BPC.....


2 wires go to the grey plug... isnt the other one a ground? pin#2 on the BPC plug
__________________
Quote:
I heard Tom Had a 2 pump dump on his injector duty cycle....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Green9kAERO is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #9
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Don't have my specs pages with me, by memory I think it was hot wire that went to the fuse box. Will let you know tomm.

Edit: Yes it is a hot wire running through fuse # 5.

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by adshaft; 06-16-2009 at 03:52 PM.
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2010, 12:43 PM   #10
Elder
 
Green9kAERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 4,187
bump so i dont need to keep searching for this thread when i want to look at 9000 wiring diagrams
__________________
Quote:
I heard Tom Had a 2 pump dump on his injector duty cycle....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Green9kAERO is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2010, 10:37 PM   #11
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 451
Are you using the T5 crank position sensor or the one made for the motor
SS929k is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 08:11 AM   #12
Elder
 
Green9kAERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 4,187
im using a t5 engine and transmission in my 92.....
__________________
Quote:
I heard Tom Had a 2 pump dump on his injector duty cycle....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Green9kAERO is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 10:28 AM   #13
Avid TSL User
 
saabingforlife99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: seattle WA
Posts: 258
dont forget your intake temp sensor.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
can i get enough boost to put the head into the hood??
saabingforlife99 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 11:09 AM   #14
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green9kAERO View Post
bump so i dont need to keep searching for this thread when i want to look at 9000 wiring diagrams
Why don't you tag the thread?
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 12:16 PM   #15
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green9kAERO View Post
im using a t5 engine and transmission in my 92.....
Oh now I fully under stand what your doing. I thought you were just going to use the t5 ecu with the 92 motor. So basically your negating using the full car harness (Headlight to tail light) by splicing the important wires together to get the car running.
SS929k is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2010, 08:25 AM   #16
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 40
ok i have t5 out of a 1996 9000 cse installed in my 91 9000 my trionic box is from a 96 cs. my car runs but i need to know who is experiencing what with the crank sensor wheel i have mine on the crank pully and set on the 20th slot.my car was missfireing a lot and i went through alot of diag and came down to timing issue so i unbolted the bracket for the sensor while the car was running and moved it down about 2-3 slots car started running alot better.. so my question is what slot should the sensor be on with the engine at TDC and my second question is does trionic 5.2 and 5.5 have different settings for where the sensor is

thanks in advace guys
white9ktalladega is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2010, 01:41 PM   #17
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 914
How much of this would be aplicable to T5ing a classic, cause I need this level of detail soo bad! This is just too awesome!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2010, 04:29 AM   #18
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 104
Wiring diagram T5.2 needed

I'm going trough the same steps you are addshaft. I'm converting a classic 900 to trionic 5.2. I only have a 5.5 wiring diagram and compared with T5.2 there are some considerable differences. Can you or anyone help me finding a 5.2 diagram? Regards Torsten
Torsten is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2010, 06:58 AM   #19
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,696
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torsten View Post
I'm going trough the same steps you are addshaft. I'm converting a classic 900 to trionic 5.2. I only have a 5.5 wiring diagram and compared with T5.2 there are some considerable differences. Can you or anyone help me finding a 5.2 diagram? Regards Torsten
t5.2 is BS its not worth the effort

i promise, it is much easier to fab a CPS wheel and bracket, than to sort out a t5.2 harness. Trust me, ive done both

never mind that the scarcity of ECUs can turn tunng into a nightmare
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 11:38 AM   #20
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
SOAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 914
Hey! I might have an opportunity to pick up a good bodied 1992? 9000 with an N/a 2.0 for the cost to tow it. I currently have a pretty beat up 1995 9000 Aero. Would this be the thread I would want to foolow if I were to take the heart of my car (engine and harness) and put it into the 1992? Or would that be a whole different project?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
until something like this is available for saabs, there will be no slammage.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SOAB is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
t5 conversion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.