DI/APC to T5 Conversion to T5Suite - Page 3 - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9000 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9000

Performance Modifications for the 9000 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the Saab 9000. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2008, 11:48 AM   #41
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,696
Send a message via AIM to mike d
this looks like it will be a bit more involved then just the fueling end of the wireing harness....
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2008, 11:49 AM   #42
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
They should be interchangable (the clusters).

I'm still also pretty damn sure a person can get away with just puting the trionic engine bay harness in there and get it to work no problem.

I've had no time to try it, but it really looks to me like it would probably work.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2008, 12:48 PM   #43
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,696
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK View Post
They should be interchangable (the clusters).

I'm still also pretty damn sure a person can get away with just puting the trionic engine bay harness in there and get it to work no problem.

I've had no time to try it, but it really looks to me like it would probably work.
im sure that would run the car, however i was more concerned with if the Trip computer/ MPG display would still be compatible across the years
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-05-2008, 01:07 PM   #44
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Same connections on them, so I'd bet it would work.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2008, 01:22 PM   #45
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
JK you're right, the 91 and 93 clusters are exactly alike and the 95 harness has the exact same plugs. So yes both 91 & 93 cluster fits to a 95 harness. Only problem I can see right now is the clucth/brake unit has the old style female connectors and my 95 has the new style male plugs (won't work).... weird thing is the 95 I looked at today has both the older style female & male connectors. That's probably my one of my biggest issues right now. Figured out probably 90% of the plugs so I made quite a bit of progress. Rain coming so work on hold for today.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2008, 02:45 PM   #46
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
I think you can get through all this. Afterall, if people are running trionic derived from 9000 harnesses on 8v and 16v c900s then you should be able to make it work on a 9000!
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2008, 03:36 PM   #47
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Yeah I think my only real obstical will be getting all the little bits to make this work as it should. Good thing I've got a tech who has tons of parts which I can get for next to nothing. My stripped 93 is definitely coming in handy, will use lots of those needed parts to help the completion.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2008, 11:55 AM   #48
TSLMember
 
Dilemma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 28
Any luck in the BDM matter?
Dilemma is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2008, 12:50 PM   #49
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Not yet my parallel port card that I fit in my computer was not held in with a screw so when removing the wire from the card it made my card move and somehow fried my mobo. Asus will see if they can fix it or give me a new one. Got an old laptop coming w/windows 95, will give it a shot with that one. Thanks Dilemma.

Adam
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2008, 08:38 PM   #50
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Can anyone tell me what these plugs are for? they are all from the dash and under front seats.

1: Is this for an a/c sensor above passenger side's feet? If so what's the sensor called? Bulls eye?


2: Radio?



3:Top one is for window switch, what's the bottom on for? Amplifier?



4:Have no clue what this is....very long wire...




5:High end Speaker Audio?


6:CD?


7:Gotta be the alarm.


Thanks in advance
Adam
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2008, 08:49 PM   #51
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,348
The alarm module is located like behind the glove box. So if thats where it can fit....
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2008, 08:42 PM   #52
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Took out the engine tonight. So I can start on doing all them hard to get to tasks. Never mind the dust car hasn't been driven in over 3 years now and it sitting in a very dusty warehouse.

Them being: tranny swap from auto to manual...new Spec Stage 2 clutch with lightened flywheel...MY95 ABS unit install...timing wheel installation w/CPS ...balance shaft deletion...install t5 harness and lots of other little things.







__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2008, 09:01 PM   #53
Elder
 
drewz airflow se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OHIO
Posts: 8,107
Send a message via AIM to drewz airflow se
Nice motor raul.....just kidding
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

^CLICK ME^
drewz airflow se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2008, 09:16 PM   #54
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
LOL Had to show off my new engine hoist, fed up of renting them, figured it'd be cheaper to just finally buy one. And yes my uh.. my front plate is the best on the net...Not
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 11:38 AM   #55
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Few updates on my project:


Removed the ABS pump unit to install the newer version (MY95) which has different plugs, booster and reservoir tank. Also need to swap out my gas/brake pedal unit to fit in my clutch/gas/brake pedal unit.
Disconnected the auto trans from engine, not suggested to lift alone, walking like a 90 year old who just pooped his pants. Prettied up the 93 Aero manual trans, installed the lightened flywheel. I used 2 washers per bolt behind the flywheel to compensate for the 4mm which was shaved off. It might not be needed but 16 washers is better than having to take out the trans all over again.
Deleting the balance shafts and putting new timing on the engine.
















__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 12:03 PM   #56
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,348
Nice.

I hope while the trans was/is out you drill a hole for draining it.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 12:14 PM   #57
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
Yeah just gotta figure out where the best spot to drill and tap is. Any advice?

Will also use that drain hole as an oil out going into a small 12v switched motor/pump and have the oil passing through my trans oil cooler, back into the trans through the oil fill tube. Since my car already has the oil cooler figure why not use it and cool off my trans.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 02:38 PM   #58
Avid TSL User
 
Skwisgaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 260
what year did they start using a drain plug?

btw, i like the manual trans cooler idea. could prove to be the key to longevity.
__________________
TUNING GRüPPE
Skwisgaar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 03:00 PM   #59
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
adshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 1,475
I don't think they used drain plugs, this would be a custom mod to help with trans oil changes.

Yeah that's what I was going for, longer I can keep from pulling out the trans the better. Hope it works out
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
adshaft is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 06:09 PM   #60
Avid TSL User
 
Skwisgaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 260
i could swear i read somewhere that saab started using drain plugs at some point in time. i know the earlier cars never had them.. does the manual just use 75-90? or does it use ATF like BMWs? if it takes gear oil, i highly reccomend Swepco. i've seen solid whp gains and much track abuse without issues. but for a manual trans that uses ATF, the Royal Purple Synchromax oil is awesome. great results in my last E30.

and if your gonna drill and tap a drain hole, be very cautious not to get metal shavings into the box. i'd drill at the lowest point on the box off to the side to avoid knicking a cog. and keep the pics coming!!! the more pics, the better.
__________________
TUNING GRüPPE
Skwisgaar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
t5 conversion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright © The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.