Vista, BDM, T7 suite? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9-5

Performance Modifications for the 9-5 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the 9-5. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2009, 10:56 AM   #1
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
Vista, BDM, T7 suite?

I am almost ready to start my T7 suite journey but I am stuck on which cable I need to buy my laptop has vista and I dont know which connector is the right one to run with viasta, a BDM or a CANUSB? If anyone has some knowlage on this that can help me out it would be greatly appriciated. Thanks,
Tony.

BTW my labtop has a port for the BDM parallel cable to connect if that helps any.
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2009, 12:44 PM   #2
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,345
I have no idea what kind of laptop you have that can run Vista and that has a LPT port.

Amazing.

Go with the CANUSB, its USB and much faster. No soldering, just make a few connections and go. The only thing is, theres a possibility to Brick an ECU flashing over CAN, in that case to unbrick the ecu you'd need a BDM...
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 12:46 PM   #3
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
kingofkrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kanata!! EH
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-the-kid View Post
Go with the CANUSB, its USB and much faster. No soldering, just make a few connections and go. The only thing is, theres a possibility to Brick an ECU flashing over CAN, in that case to unbrick the ecu you'd need a BDM...
then youll be where im at lol


go with the canusb .... its a lot easier!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kingofkrunk is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-23-2009, 12:48 PM   #4
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,345
The BDM was cheap enough the first time starting out for me, so I bought that first.

After a bit, and I kinda got more into it, I threw down the $$ for a CANUSB for my brother and I to use.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 04:08 PM   #5
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
well what kind of cable does bdm take cause my laptop has this rectangle shaped thing in the back? sry im new at this. So should I get this CANUSB? the can232?
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 06:21 PM   #6
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 215
t7suite did not work on my vista machine. it wouldn't recognize the symbols.
fong is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 08:01 PM   #7
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
Like the program wouldnt download to ur machine? cause I downloaded the program already.

So which is better? BDM or CANUSB? cause I can get a machine with windows98 on it.
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 11:37 PM   #8
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 215
no, it works in vista. it's just that the symbols don't load. you will be able to see all the maps and stuff, but since the symbols aren't recognized, the maps have no labels and the tuning menu will not know which maps to bring up. it works fine on my xp machine.

The cheapest way to flash an ECU would be to get a BDM interface on ebay. Epartsland sells one with the cable. You then have to source some 1.5mm pins to solder on to the board and make a bootable USB drive with bd32 on it and the scripts which are used to flash/read/erase a t7 ecu. You just use t7suite to edit the maps and you reflash every time you make a change.

By the sound of it, it seems like you want to flash the ECU while it is still in the car. I'm not familiar with this method, but i'm pretty sure you won't be able to use a BDM in this case.
fong is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2009, 11:58 PM   #9
User
Elder
 
zingZACH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Durham, NH
Posts: 9,193
Send a message via AIM to zingZACH
Quote:
Originally Posted by fong View Post
no, it works in vista. it's just that the symbols don't load. you will be able to see all the maps and stuff, but since the symbols aren't recognized, the maps have no labels and the tuning menu will not know which maps to bring up. it works fine on my xp machine.

The cheapest way to flash an ECU would be to get a BDM interface on ebay. Epartsland sells one with the cable. You then have to source some 1.5mm pins to solder on to the board and make a bootable USB drive with bd32 on it and the scripts which are used to flash/read/erase a t7 ecu. You just use t7suite to edit the maps and you reflash every time you make a change.

By the sound of it, it seems like you want to flash the ECU while it is still in the car. I'm not familiar with this method, but i'm pretty sure you won't be able to use a BDM in this case.
T7Suite works just fine on my computer and I'm running Vista.

__________________
1999 9-3 Viggen - T7 Suite Stage 3
1988 900 Springtime in Sweden


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by zingZACH; 09-24-2009 at 12:03 AM.
zingZACH is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 04:33 PM   #10
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
i dont mind how I flash it. in car or on my desk. As long as I can flash my ecu and it works the right way. lol
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2009, 11:55 AM   #11
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
ok so i started getting my stuff for the canusb set up. I want to hardwire my conector to the p-bus, where is thetcm module and if im using the lawicel can232 connector do i still need to connect the dsub harness to a 12v wire in the tcm harness since the lawicel uses power from the usb port?
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2009, 03:54 PM   #12
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
anyone?
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2009, 06:57 AM   #13
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,345
www.ecuproject.com
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2009, 08:20 AM   #14
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 70
I know im a member on there already but I cant seem to find it on there either.
BLK4DR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.