turbo? - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9-5

Performance Modifications for the 9-5 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the 9-5. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2008, 12:38 PM   #1
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
Question turbo?

can anyone tell me if i am able to use a areo ecu in my linear it is a 2002 2.3
also is it just a plug in process or what. and what would be the increase of power. thanks
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2008, 12:45 PM   #2
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
don't know about an aero ECU but you can get a ECU tune from nick at genuinesaab or a variety of other tuners
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 12:48 PM   #3
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
is there a better one then the other or are they about the same.
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2008, 12:51 PM   #4
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
There is a constant debate between SQR, BSR, JS. I have always had good experience with Nick at GS. Maybe someone with firsthand experience will chip in.
BSR power chart
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 12:57 PM   #5
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
right now it is stock. so i want to put catback on and airfilter and now i need to figure out if areo ecu will do the job or go with bsr tuning. hmm.
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 12:59 PM   #6
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
manual? auto?
exhuast is good, The stock airbox should be good up to 300hp, so i would put that money towards a Downpipe instead, but better upgrade than an airfilter
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:01 PM   #7
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
it is a auto. i will use just a k&n filter and a snorkle they are cheap. and a catback simons or so. just want to know what to do and what first.
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:06 PM   #8
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
exhaust
http://www.genuinesaab.com/catalog/p...roducts_id=423
Intake
http://www.genuinesaab.com/catalog/p...roducts_id=311

The problem is, without a downpipe you are basically restricted to a mild tune. With a downpipe you are able to go up to a stage 4 tune. most people will advise to get all the hardware you want first, then do the tune, so you don't spend the money on the tune twice.
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:10 PM   #9
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
is it still good with the items listed before and no downpipe. will i notice much of a diff from stock.
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:15 PM   #10
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
yeah Nordic stage 2 requires a cat back and fuel pressure regulator, rated at 250hp and 266ftlbs torque, will be a dramatic difference over stock 185hp.
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:18 PM   #11
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
that sounds good. now is the nordic easier or the bsr.
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:19 PM   #12
Deez Nutz
Site ModeratorElder
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheese Country
Posts: 15,679
Send a message via AIM to Palmer
Easier?


You pretty much just plug the ECU in, and drive.
__________________
S55/LC100/KL
Palmer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:20 PM   #13
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
i mean like do you have to replace ecu or is it a flash type program loaded into the ecu on the vech already
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:21 PM   #14
Deez Nutz
Site ModeratorElder
 
Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheese Country
Posts: 15,679
Send a message via AIM to Palmer
You get a new ECU for the nordic stuff.


Not sure about the BSR.
__________________
S55/LC100/KL
Palmer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:22 PM   #15
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
BSR is rated at 233hp and 278ftlbs torque and runs $885. both require a fuel pressure regulator i think
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 01:23 PM   #16
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
i can check on the regulator. but just need to decide bsr or nordic.
i would like to just program the one on the car i think
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 02:01 PM   #17
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
do you want more HP or more TQ? price? i think usually you just pay a core charge they send you the tuned ECU, return your original and they refund the core charge. or you could overnight your ECU out to the tuner
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 04:01 PM   #18
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
i think i want the one that i program myself and turn on and off
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 04:07 PM   #19
Elder
 
viggenkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the trenches taking grenades
Posts: 4,853
Send a message via AIM to viggenkid
There are not DIY tuning programs for T7 yet, for T5 yes. Also you cannot turn the tune on and off. you can buy a extra ECU with the tune on it, and then swap the ECU when you want, but is not a switch. Also why would you want to turn it off? MPG should actually increase as long as you are not laying into all the time.
__________________
Quote:
So, in summary...who gives a flying fack.
viggenkid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 04:17 PM   #20
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
im not sure of why. i have a flash program in my audi it is install an uninstall.
that simple.
but im am very new to saab. i dont know what the t5 or t7 really is for sure
lar95 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.