14 Point 7 Sparten - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > Performance Modifications for the 9-5

Performance Modifications for the 9-5 This forum contains PERFORMANCE related Q&A's for the 9-5. This may also include suspension.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2017, 01:37 PM   #1
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
14 Point 7 Sparten

For awhile on Megasquirt cars, i have been using the 14point7 sparten 2 wideband (see link below) and have noticed that is has a narrowband output as well.

https://www.amazon.com/14Point7-Spar...int7+spartan+2



Today i figured i should try to wire it up, and see if the narrowband output works with saabs, Gunnie pig was my 2002 95 aero,, As of now, its working great with T7 ecu. No needed calibration via tuning, or out of the ordinary install work besides splicing 4 wires!

Below is how to wire it in, You can find all needed connection at the front (black) lambda 4 wire plug


pin 1 to red
pin 2 to white
pin 3 to black
pin 4 to brown



Wonder how MPGs will be effected. Will report back after more testing
__________________
MikeDTuning.com

Last edited by mike d; 05-03-2017 at 01:41 PM.
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2017, 01:55 PM   #2
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,955
Nice. I have been eyeing the spartan for some time. So if t7 is using the wife and for running the car, what do you think the narrow band will do? Get rid of a cel?
Tboy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2017, 01:58 PM   #3
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
i am using the Sparten as a replacement for the front lambda. Not sure what you mean about the narrowband?
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-03-2017, 02:06 PM   #4
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,955
Oh. I might have mis read. I thought you had your Ecu changed to utilize a wideband, and had additionally hooked up the narrowband output.

So in this case, you have the wideband portion running a gauge, and the narrow band feeding info to the ecu?
Tboy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2017, 05:52 PM   #5
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
i have the same sensor running both a guage, and the ecu,

So yes, the narrowband output running the ecu, while the wide-band runs the guage

Even though its a narrow-band output, the response time, and accuracy are still much better going to the ECU. Maybe i'm swallowing a sugar pill, but i swear the car idles better now.
__________________
MikeDTuning.com

Last edited by mike d; 05-03-2017 at 11:55 PM.
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2017, 05:11 AM   #6
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
i have the same sensor running both a guage, and the ecu,

So yes, the narrowband output running the ecu, while the wide-band runs the guage

Even though its a narrow-band output, the response time, and accuracy are still much better going to the ECU. Maybe i'm swallowing a sugar pill, but i swear the car idles better now.
So is this car not tuned? Is there a reason you didn't tune the ECU to use the output of the wideband directly?
Tboy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2017, 07:37 AM   #7
Elder
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 2,522
Send a message via ICQ to g96nt Send a message via AIM to g96nt Send a message via MSN to g96nt Send a message via Yahoo to g96nt
Aren't there others that do this, too?
I sort of thought that AEM UEGO did the same. although that may have been through the gauge, which shrinks the output.
__________________
Craig R.
2008 9-5 Aero-1995 900T 'vert
g96nt is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2017, 03:42 PM   #8
Moderator
Site Moderator
 
jk88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Priustown/Teslaville
Posts: 4,442
But how do the tortilla chips affect EGTs?
__________________
88 900TC / 02 Viggen / 90 911 C2 / 03 4Runner / 18 V90
jk88 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2017, 05:30 AM   #9
Elder
 
mike d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashua NH
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to mike d
Oh tuning thread, How i spite thee.

Joking aside, i was looking for more of a "plug in" solution. and i just got a CEL from it today, back to the drawing board
__________________
MikeDTuning.com
mike d is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2017, 08:43 AM   #10
Drew In Houston
Elder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,864
What code(s) are you getting?

Edit:I bet it's either a latency or impedance issue or both. Both acceptable ranges can probably be calibrated-for. I may get one of these to try too, I just started adjusting my stock 03 9-5 Aero for improving drivability and response w/a light weight flywheel. It's surprising how much timing it tries to run everywhere bone stock
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.

Last edited by Trionic3000; 05-06-2017 at 09:01 AM.
Trionic3000 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.