Replacing the Valves in a B235R Head - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2014, 03:13 PM   #1
Avid TSL User

Replacing the Valves in a B235R Head

Posted this at saabcentral, but thought I would bring it here as well.

I work at a vocational school that has an automotive program and the automotive instructor has been helping me with my engine rebuild for my Viggen. Recently, we had the motor sent to a machine shop. He has a history with this shop so I don't feel like I am being ripped off. However, I am also far from an expert in machine work and have never had machine work done before.

The motor was previously built (by JZW, previous owner) and I am having it inspected and rebuilt. The machinist is recommending that all intake and exhaust valves be replaced; two exhaust valves were bent, and he believed they were too thin for him to cut. The rebuild did not have many miles on it, maybe at the most, between 5,000 and 10,000, but was burning oil for the previously owner before I bought it. Is this reasonable to believe that all valves need to be replaced this quickly?

Also, if I do replace all of the valves, do I need to look for a specific intake and exhaust valve? Because I have seen numerous ones listed at different prices for the Viggen and for the 9-5, both B235R. Is there a specific manufacturer I should be looking for? The cheapest I found were:

http://www.autopartsnetwork.com/saab...IakBm-Ouj0NhAE

and

Saab Engine Intake Valve W0133-1842225 - AE at Auto Parts Network