no gas gauge - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2014, 08:57 AM   #1
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 203
no gas gauge

97 900SE talladega vert.
2.0t 5speed 150k.

absolutely no light on on dash everything works properly except the gas gauge. its stuck on empty with the gas light on.

is there any simple fixes to this or if one gauge goes bad do you need to replace the entire cluster.?
Saabkid900T is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2014, 09:49 AM   #2
Elder
 
soccerrplyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barre Town, Vt
Posts: 4,360
Send a message via AIM to soccerrplyr
could it be an issue with the float arm on the fuel assembly?
__________________
1999 9 Stage 18t
2000 9 Stage 19t
2005 CRV


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
soccerrplyr is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 09:52 AM   #3
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerrplyr View Post
could it be an issue with the float arm on the fuel assembly?
would there be any way to test that.? could the float just get stuck at the bottom like that.?
Saabkid900T is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-09-2014, 11:41 AM   #4
TSLMember
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 34
Have you checked for OBD fuel sensor-related fault codes?

P0460 Fuel Level Sensor Circuit Malfunction
P0461 Fuel Level Sensor Circuit Range/Performance
P0462 Fuel level Sensor Circuit Low Input
P0463 Fuel level Sensor Circuit High Input
P0464 Fuel level Sensor Circuit Intermittent
Bruce is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 11:57 AM   #5
Elder
 
turbojohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orchard Park, ny
Posts: 3,884
It isn't uncommon for a sending unit to go bad
turbojohnny is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 03:21 PM   #6
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 203
there are absolutely no codes on the dash cept for the actuall little low gas pump light itself..
could it have a stored code that might be in the computer.?

and in the vert how difficult would it be to change a sender unit.?
Saabkid900T is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 04:03 PM   #7
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,107
Send a message via AIM to srp
You have a multimeter? You can ohm out the plug under the rear seat.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 04:53 PM   #8
Elder
 
turbojohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orchard Park, ny
Posts: 3,884
To change the sending unit is the same process as changing a fuel pump. You can either drop the fuel tank, or cut a hole in the sheet metal under the seat. Cutting the hole is common practice. I've done it a couple of times.
turbojohnny is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2014, 06:21 PM   #9
TSLMember
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 34
Quote:
there are absolutely no codes on the dash cept for the actuall little low gas pump light itself..
could it have a stored code that might be in the computer.?
The socket for the OBD-II is located below the steering wheel and towards the bottom of the dash. You can buy a reader, but I'd just go to Autozone and have them read the codes for you. I don't believe they generally charge for this service.
Bruce is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2014, 05:52 PM   #10
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojohnny View Post
To change the sending unit is the same process as changing a fuel pump. You can either drop the fuel tank, or cut a hole in the sheet metal under the seat. Cutting the hole is common practice. I've done it a couple of times.
i lifted up the rear seat and there is a small plastic cover underneath there i would assume that is where the fuel pump is.. now is the sending unit and fuel pump separate or is the sender a part of it.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
The socket for the OBD-II is located below the steering wheel and towards the bottom of the dash. You can buy a reader, but I'd just go to Autozone and have them read the codes for you. I don't believe they generally charge for this service.
and yes i have a code scanner but there are no lights on the dash except for the low gas light. no check engine light at alll.
Saabkid900T is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2014, 06:55 PM   #11
Elder
 
turbojohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orchard Park, ny
Posts: 3,884
Stupidly, you can't pull the fuel pump through tht hole. It is offset by a few inches. The fuel pump and sending unit are all in one assembly.
turbojohnny is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2014, 04:02 AM   #12
Avid TSL User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Naugatuck CT
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojohnny View Post
Stupidly, you can't pull the fuel pump through tht hole. It is offset by a few inches. The fuel pump and sending unit are all in one assembly.
so i need to buy a new fuel pump and that should solve the problem assuming the gauge itself inside the cluster is functional.?
Saabkid900T is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2014, 05:11 AM   #13
Elder
 
turbojohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orchard Park, ny
Posts: 3,884
If you haven't replaced your fuel pump yet it wouldn't be a bad idea. But you wouldn't necessarily need to if you can't afford it. I have a couple of spare assemblies with good pumps if you'd rather not buy new. But there's always a chance you just have a bad connection somewhere.
turbojohnny is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-11-2014, 06:54 AM   #14
 
mike saunders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 6,468
Ditto what turbojohnny said. If you're replacing the sending unit, then you should replace the pump at the same time. You'll need to CAREFULLY cut a flap above the tank to make a hatch. Use tin snips, not a dremel or a cutoff wheel.
mike saunders is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.