help with boost in viggen - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 05:19 AM   #1
Avid TSL User
 
thaedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 182
help with boost in viggen

I am only getting about 12 psi of boost max out of my tdo4. The turbo was pulled from a car with 40k on it and was boosting to 20-22 before. I have a new boost control valve, and all vacuum lines are plugged. I have been playing with the wastegate and adjusted it to WIS specs. It said put it on the escape door and then turn it in 3.5 turns and then reconnect it, and this was about the same as before, so I turned it another half turn and it helped a little. The question is how many turns can I safely use before I start affecting the application of the wastegate. Any other ideas of where I am loosing boost. If I plug the hose going to the compressor housing it will spike to about 20, and if I remove the wastegate hose it will spike up. So this would make me think it is the BCV but I have a brand new one on there. Thanks
thaedge is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2009, 06:04 AM   #2
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
Since you have a boost gauge, what is your base boost as it should be 6.5 give or take a tad? Once you know this value, you can go from there. Where do you live as the ave. stock viggen will boost to 12 psi at sea level. Do you have a staged tune?
What do mean by all the vacuum lines are plugged, and what was boosting to 20 before, your old turbo, or the used one you just pulled? What was wrong with your old turbo that made you replace it?
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 06:32 AM   #3
Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Boston, MA
Posts: 3,983
Send a message via AIM to rafal
Subscribed. I have 15psi at the peak then goes down to 11-12. I adjusted the wastegate multiple times, no help here. Before plugging the top bpc hose off, there were only 7psis.

Still waiting for friends to get a smoke test detector in their shop. Hopefully this will show the flaws.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rafal is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-29-2009, 07:56 AM   #4
Avid TSL User
 
thaedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 182
the td04 that I pulled and installed was boosting around 20psi on an spg. How do I check base boost? I have a stock tune. By plugging the vacuum lines I mean that if I pull the lines going to the bpc an plug either the wastegate or compressor lines I will get up to 20psi. I am at about 5000 feet above sea level. I replaced the turbo because the exhaust turbine was torn up, and have also rebuilt the engine.
thaedge is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 08:14 AM   #5
Elder
 
Champ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MN domination
Posts: 3,658
Oh this is a new one!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Champ is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 08:37 AM   #6
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Sleepy7666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 1,495
Isn't stock ecu tune boost set at 12 psi regardless of hardware? So you'd need an ECU retune in order to use the hardware to its full potential...
__________________
I lurk.

99 and 01 Saab 9-3
96 Escort LX

83 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

No time for the BS. Plenty of work to be done in the garage.
Sleepy7666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 10:16 AM   #7
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaedge View Post
the td04 that I pulled and installed was boosting around 20psi on an spg. How do I check base boost? I have a stock tune. By plugging the vacuum lines I mean that if I pull the lines going to the bpc an plug either the wastegate or compressor lines I will get up to 20psi. I am at about 5000 feet above sea level. I replaced the turbo because the exhaust turbine was torn up, and have also rebuilt the engine.
Boosting 20 psi on an spg (I had one) and boosting on a viggen are 2 different things. Since the viggen is stock, you want BB set at 6.5 max. An easy, but not super accurate way to check BB on a T7 is to unplug the BPC as this will give you a ball park figure. Best way is to connect the C and W hose together.
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 10:36 AM   #8
Avid TSL User
 
thaedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 182
for clarification. When you use the above method to determine bb you will see a max boost of about 6.5psi? If it is lower you shorten the wastegate rod, and if higher you lengthen it, correct? Thanks for your help.
thaedge is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 11:14 AM   #9
lms
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaedge View Post
for clarification. When you use the above method to determine bb you will see a max boost of about 6.5psi? If it is lower you shorten the wastegate rod, and if higher you lengthen it, correct? Thanks for your help.
Yes.
lms is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 11:31 AM   #10
Elder
 
Castor Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 3,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepy7666 View Post
Isn't stock ecu tune boost set at 12 psi regardless of hardware?

no.

T7 is a torque request system. % throttle determines how much torque is being "requested". from there, the ecu (based on several factors and maps) determines how much fuel and boost is needed to give the requested amount of torque.

this is why a T7 car that makes 10psi at sea level will make 15psi or more at 5000 feet, but feel basically the same.
__________________
^The preceeding post probably had something to do with Seth Romer.
Castor Troy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 05:45 PM   #11
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Sleepy7666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 1,495
is that at least correct on a T5?
__________________
I lurk.

99 and 01 Saab 9-3
96 Escort LX

83 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim

No time for the BS. Plenty of work to be done in the garage.
Sleepy7666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 05:50 PM   #12
Elder
 
saabkid37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A big city with bright lights
Posts: 8,796
so lemme get this straight...

20 psi with bpc unhooked
12 psi when hooked up normally...

sounds like a stock viggen to me...



__________________
Quote:
The tragedy of idiot-proofing: Mother nature responds to every product improvement by introducing a higher performance idiot.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
saabkid37 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 05:58 PM   #13
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepy7666 View Post
is that at least correct on a T5?
More or less, thats how T-5 works. However, t5 can still pull or increase boost based on environmental and driver inputs to compensate.

I normally just drive in a relaxed manner (otherwise I chew through gas) and on the first 2 or 3 pulls, the car doesnt pull to its max potential. Then it starts 'waking' up and after those initial accelerations pulls like it should.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2009, 06:53 PM   #14
Elder
 
NahumCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 9,197
Send a message via AIM to NahumCC Send a message via MSN to NahumCC Send a message via Yahoo to NahumCC
No T5 does not work in a similar fashion to T7.

T5 is literally programed as a boost target system but runs in speed density to determine fueling.

If you give x% of throttle in T5 read out by the TPS at the throttle it will then seek out that boost target by comparing the TPS readout to an RPM readout and then that will be the boost pressure request figure. It's that plain and simple.

Fueling is then determined by taking the reading from the MAP and IAT and plugging in the variables to determine airmass from PV=nRT and some tweeking via the front O2 sensor basically except at WOT where it is a pre-programed amount.

So to re-cap T5. If your ECU is set to run 12psi at 4000 RPM at 100% throttle at sea level then you'll see 12psi at 4000 RPM at 100% throttle at 5000 ft.



__________________
2013 FR-S

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NahumCC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.