GS Stut Brace - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2009, 09:55 AM   #1
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
GS Stut Brace

Ok, so Im posting mainly because Im excited to finally order the GS strut brace for my ng900 vert! It will be the last suspension upgrade I can possibly get short of custom stuff.

Anyways, I just have a question:
I dont have a torque wrench, I know you tighten those nuts on the strut down to 14# but can I just count threads before I take the original off? Also, those of you who have it; does it have a the provision for the ng900 stuff (dont know what it is) that is mounted to the stock bar?

Thanks for the information, just double checking
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by christian900se; 04-07-2009 at 10:11 AM.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2009, 09:56 AM   #2
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Concord, NH
Posts: 978
Send a message via AIM to someguy
What size did you go with?
__________________
President and Founder of the NJSA- "We bring nothing to the table."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1999 M3 Cabrio
someguy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 10:04 AM   #3
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Counting threads will not help. there can be virutally zero thread difference between 14#s and broken.

Just snug it up, or borrow a torque wrench. Its not something yoyu have to reef on to get tight enough.
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-07-2009, 10:08 AM   #4
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
Yes it has a provision for the map sensor.

Just don't go crazy. Your not a big guy right?
I'm a big guy. I tend to over tighten things.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 10:15 AM   #5
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Ok, thanks JK for the tightening information. And Im retarded for spelling strut as stut.

SRP: I always wondered what that was, thanks for enlightening me. Im pretty big*... Im about 145, 5'8"

Someguy: its the beefier strut brace that is sold on GS aka the squid bar.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #6
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
I think someguy thought you bought the rear sway bar.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 10:20 AM   #7
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
someguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Concord, NH
Posts: 978
Send a message via AIM to someguy
Quote:
Originally Posted by srp View Post
I think someguy thought you bought the rear sway bar.
Indeed, I can't read.
__________________
President and Founder of the NJSA- "We bring nothing to the table."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1999 M3 Cabrio
someguy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 12:01 PM   #8
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Oh, ok that makes sense. I bought the 22mm from GS about 16 months ago roughly... One of my first mods.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 02:16 PM   #9
Avid TSL User
 
RBatsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON. CANADA
Posts: 258
What I do in these types of cases is undo (just crack it off one turn) one of the existing bolts and re-tighten it to exactly where it was. Feel how hard you had to push on the wrench? That's what you want on all of them after you've re-installed the part. Hope that helps.....
RBatsch is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 02:43 PM   #10
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Thats a good tip, I will do that if I wind up not borrowing a torque wrench. Thanks for the advice, unfortunately the brace has to be fabricated right now so it will ship in a few days hopefully.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 04:54 PM   #11
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brunswick Maryland
Posts: 1,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by srp View Post
Yes it has a provision for the map sensor.

Just don't go crazy. Your not a big guy right?
I'm a big guy. I tend to over tighten things.
I couldn't find a provision for a map sensor on mine. I got it last month.
__________________
RG Rude
WASSAAB member

1997 900SE Talladega (SQR stage 4)
2006 9-3SS Aero
Rudedog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 04:59 PM   #12
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudedog View Post
I couldn't find a provision for a map sensor on mine. I got it last month.
I'll get a better picture when it's light out.

But I made sure to ask Nick when I bought it and he assured me all would be fine. Sure enough when I got it there were two holes to scre the map sensor into.

He may have even said so in a thread here or on SC.

Either way I would contact GS and let them know.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 08:30 PM   #13
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
I dont really mind, I will find a way to mount it on the bar regardless. Is it a good idea to reposition the map sensor? Not change the wiring or the hoses, but just move it?
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 05:03 AM   #14
TSLMember
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
If you work on your own car, you should invest in a torque wrench.
OcCrew is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 05:24 AM   #15
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
Quote:
Originally Posted by OcCrew View Post
If you work on your own car, you should invest in a torque wrench.
Good call. I picked up a 3/8" and 1/2" one at Sears not to long ago when they were on sale. I think I payed $50 for each. No they are not a $200+ Snap On wrench but they will get the job done for what I do.
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 06:01 AM   #16
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Thats the thing; torque wrenchs are so damn expensive! I will probably wind up getting one, but for now I will borrow one from my saab mech at Saab of Greenwich for the install.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 06:07 AM   #17
srp
Elder
 
srp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northwestern NJ
Posts: 5,111
Send a message via AIM to srp
I don't think $50 is expensive. It's tool that you can use for many applications. Every fastener has a torque spec.

How much have you spent on detailing supplies?
srp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 06:19 AM   #18
Elder
 
dan-the-kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 7,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by srp View Post
I don't think $50 is expensive. It's tool that you can use for many applications. Every fastener has a torque spec.

How much have you spent on detailing supplies?
X2 Also useful on bicycles.
__________________
Yeah, T5.2 its -.3 better then the rest.
1989 900 SPG: Trionic 5(stg1), Aero seats, TD04-15G, 3" Turboback. SOLD
1993 9000 Aero: 3"Turboback, T5Suite Stg.3
dan-the-kid is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 06:36 AM   #19
Elder
 
christian900se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by srp View Post
How much have you spent on detailing supplies?
haha, you got me on that one. I would estimate somewhere close to a grand but who knows at this point

I will look at autozone for one, I thought I saw some that were reasonably priced so I will stop by today or tomorrow when I get home from college.
__________________
2010 370Z 6MT Touring: 320rwhp/262ftlbs, SpecialtyZ, Swift springs, Berk HFCs, Stillen G3 CAI, F.I. CBE, Stillen Sway bars


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
christian900se is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2009, 07:53 AM   #20
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 747
Send a message via AIM to Elmo
so, with every suspension/chassis mod available, how does your car feel, even being a conv? i'm curious how button'd down you can make a conv saab.

it must feel great knowing that your car will soon handle as good as it theoretically can (short of custom fab).

next step... roll cage
have fun
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elmo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.