So I bought a Viggen.... - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2017, 09:48 AM   #1
SAABeginner

Question So I bought a Viggen....

Hey guys so I'm a young college student that took a gamble of my time and money on buying this 2000 Viggen Vert. payed $800 out the door, claimed it had "Mechanical Issues." (So Clean title and no body damage for a Viggen? No Brainer!)

This will be Replacing the 2008 9-5 Aero that was totaled back in May I have relatively good experience with the B235R and feel comfortable working on it myself for most things. One thing I'm not familiar with so much is internal engine building, or ecu tuning. these are things I would have to outsource, and again don't have much money to work with so I would want to go the most cost effective route.

Anyways, I finally got around to tinkering with it this weekend, noticed that there were none of the 4 bolts holding down the dic, so I suspected busted dic. I took off the old one and noticed that the Valve cover Gasket had been redone, no seepage inside. took off the plugs and saw that they were very black and that the car was being ran too rich. I don't have a bore scope so I wasn't able to check the condition inside. the car had 135k on the dash so I assumed it had just had a Valve job done.
Well Yesterday I was able to check the compression. 1st gave me 50 and 4th gave me 10. So I have determined it wont be as easy as replacing a dic.