***Boost gauge where headlight switch is - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information

General NG900 / Old 9-3 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the NG900 and old 9-3.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2006, 11:24 AM   #1
Elder
 
griffen nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,171
Send a message via AIM to griffen nut
***Boost gauge where headlight switch is

Ok, I have a boost gauge and a ricer gauge pod which sits on my dash. I hate it. I want to clean my interior up and put the boost gauge where the headlight switch is.

#1) Will my gauge fit there. Here are the specs on it...

2 inch Gauge Holes; Gauge face is 2 1/16

#2) How hard is this? And any directions?


I searched this, but could only find that it was possible to do this, no instructions or specs on the gauge needed.

Thanks guys!
__________________
griffen nut is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2006, 11:28 AM   #2
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
VAGGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: floor, computer on lap
Posts: 1,591
If you put your boost gauge where your headlight switch is, you wont be able to read your gauge too well. The switch is partially hidden by the steering wheel.
__________________
2004 9-5 Aero Wagon - SOLD - and missing it
2004 S2000 - 31,000 miles and counting much more slowly
VAGGEN is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 11:40 AM   #3
Elder
 
Saab93cse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,162
You need to do a little dremel work...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Saab93cse is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-26-2006, 11:48 AM   #4
Elder
 
Cpenning623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: caldwellNJBangkokThailand
Posts: 2,693
Send a message via AIM to Cpenning623
just pull the headlight switch out, and test fit the guage.

I really think the one of the saab manufacturers should come out with the boost guage pod in the air vents like aud'i's
Cpenning623 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 11:49 AM   #5
Elder
 
stromer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Falmouth, Maine
Posts: 5,988
Send a message via AIM to stromer
Then the vent wouldn't work as well though.

No more "***" in front of every thread tittle, please.
__________________
1999 9-3, 2002 9-5, 1979 900
z06 and a bunch of Chevy trucks
stromer is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 11:54 AM   #6
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
mg_td's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yarmouth, ME / Troy, NY
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to mg_td
i can see one half of the center vent used like that, but it probably wouldnt look so hot.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

238.8 whp 272.1 wtq
mg_td is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:22 PM   #7
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Voodoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hopkins, MN
Posts: 1,200
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo
I've thought about putting a boost gauge in the light switch, but as others mentioned it's partially obstructed. You could turn the gauge so it sat at an angle where the important part (peak boost) was visible, but then that just messes with my whole "everything must be aligned and balanced" OCD and won't work for me.

Do the 9-3's have an a-pillar airbag?
__________________
2010 Mustang GT/2000 Saab 9-5 SE sportwagen
Voodoo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:25 PM   #8
JK
Elder
 
JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of 10,000 L-holes
Posts: 13,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voodoo
Do the 9-3's have an a-pillar airbag?
No...but that is a funny thought - cruising along and *BLAMO* your gauge pod goes shooting out the passenger side window, or into your face
__________________
always a SAAB guy at heart
JK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:25 PM   #9
Elder
 
AeroDynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington State
Posts: 6,912
Send a message via AIM to AeroDynamic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voodoo
Do the 9-3's have an a-pillar airbag?
yours shouldnt
__________________
WHATS YOUR ALTITUDE?
510whp @18psi @5600rpm's "600HP or parts on the floor"
AeroDynamic is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:30 PM   #10
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Voodoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hopkins, MN
Posts: 1,200
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK9000s
No...but that is a funny thought - cruising along and *BLAMO* your gauge pod goes shooting out the passenger side window, or into your face
My Golf 1.8T had it and I put an a-pillar pod on anyway. Yeah... I'm smrt.

So I could just get a pod for it if I wanted to. Good to know, thanks.
__________________
2010 Mustang GT/2000 Saab 9-5 SE sportwagen
Voodoo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:31 PM   #11
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,700
does anyone have a picture of the audi boost gauge? That sounds kind of cool.
fieldsc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:32 PM   #12
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
I haven't had visibility problems but its distracting keeping an eye on both the gauge and road at the same time. Also, did anyone else have to remove the screw inside the dash just to the left of the lightswitch location? My gauge wouldn't fit flush without taking that screw out (I think its used to mount the vent).

But its an easy job, and 2/16 inch is 52mm, the same size gauge from speedparts sold by genuinesaab/elkparts.com. Just need a dremel tool to get it fitting snugly.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
quattro is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 12:44 PM   #13
Elder
 
griffen nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,171
Send a message via AIM to griffen nut
Does anyone have a DIY? I dont mind that it will be behind the wheel....i dont use the gauge that much anymore anyways and am going to keep my car fairly stock so monitoring boost isnt a priority, the clean look is more important to me...my pod looks so ricer right now
__________________
griffen nut is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 01:16 PM   #14
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Voodoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hopkins, MN
Posts: 1,200
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by fieldcs
does anyone have a picture of the audi boost gauge? That sounds kind of cool.
Clicky me.

AWE Tuning gauges are the shit. My ex has one in her GTI.
__________________
2010 Mustang GT/2000 Saab 9-5 SE sportwagen
Voodoo is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 03:51 PM   #15
Elder
 
griffen nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,171
Send a message via AIM to griffen nut
Does anyone know how to start this?

1.) Do you disconnect the wires that are attatched to the actual headlight switch?

2.) How do you get the wiring for the boost gauge BEHIND the headlight switch.
__________________
griffen nut is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 04:01 PM   #16
Flirting With TSL Addiction
 
Redfoxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to Redfoxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpenning623
just pull the headlight switch out, and test fit the guage.

I really think the one of the saab manufacturers should come out with the boost guage pod in the air vents like aud'i's

they have stuff like that? you should provide picks so i can see exactly what you mean (if you can find any).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Redfoxx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 04:04 PM   #17
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
rage22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gainesville Florida
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voodoo
Clicky me.

AWE Tuning gauges are the shit. My ex has one in her GTI.

thats pretty cool, i want one now
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rage22 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 04:53 PM   #18
Elder
 
Cpenning623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: caldwellNJBangkokThailand
Posts: 2,693
Send a message via AIM to Cpenning623
its too hard, cuase of the shape of the air grille, and the way that it directs air, it has all those plates that align in a certian direction to direct the air.

it would be sweet though. I dont like a pillar guages as much as i did when i first got into cars, i think as factory as possible would be nice though, or a Digital boost guage in the dash, in place of the fake one.

or just have calibration, psi or BAR on the stock guage would be nice
Cpenning623 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2006, 05:42 AM   #19
Moderator
Elder
 
Tweek's Turbos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 10,303
Send a message via AIM to Tweek's Turbos
I did it, doesn't look bad, you can see it easy enough.

You should remove the dash to get the gauge bracket on properly. And plan on your lights being on all the time.
Tweek's Turbos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2006, 07:55 AM   #20
SAAB Road Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 369
I had to demel the opening so the switch won't ever fit back. You leave the light switch in the on position and cover it with some cloth (no rattles) and zip tie it inside/behind the dash. I also had to demel out the screw mount that is normally behind the light switch to get it to fit flush.
nbndtrain is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.