new Saab owner - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab Vintage Forum > General 99 and 90 Posts and Information

General 99 and 90 Posts and Information Please post general and technical information pertaining to the Saab 99 and 90.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2011, 07:04 PM   #1
Avid TSL User

new Saab owner

Hello SaabLink!

9-year-Volkswagener here; just sold my modified '01 GTi
I have long admired 900s and 9^3s, but never planned to own one .. but could not pass up this cool little coupe (1979 GL)

I am no mechanic, but have a friend with some experience in her '81 900 turbo .. unfortunately parked long ago due to intermittent electrical gnomes.
I will probably seek an engine inspection from a Professional soon, as I currently will use the 99 to drive to/from my employment

Exterior looks good. Hard to tell if there is rust due to newer paint job, but no real dents or missing parts.
Interior needs carpets & lights but has good seats & new headliner.
mile-counter still rolling (says 123,800) but tach just bounces around. The fuel gauge is jumpy also but works. Temp gauge/odometer/dash/exterior lights all work fine.

a very minor problem I am hoping to fix is a faint green light that remains lit on the dash (between the turnsignal arrows) which prior owner says will drain the battery (he had to buy a new bat & alternator).
Pulling the fuse at night relieves this worry .. but the hood/bonnett-release cable is broken, so it is a chore to open (already broke the grille )

Could this be the "directional indicator flasher unit" or "control relay" mentioned on pg 145 of Haynes manual?
Or is there a way to easily eliminate that unecessary light to bypass the problem?
(edit - fixed - just removed the bulb)

looking forward to learning on rainy days & scouring Oregon junkyards for parts