moderate to heavy oil leak - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > General 9-5 Posts and Information

General 9-5 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the 9-5.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2013, 06:56 AM   #1
SAABeginner

moderate to heavy oil leak

Hi fellas I just bought a 2000 aero that has a oil leak on the passenger side of the block. PO said it was a oil pan gasket. I have not jacked it up yet, I thought i would get some feed back as to what to look for before I attempt to fix it. I do not know what the known issues of the Saabs just yet as I am new to the Saab world. My son bought a 9000 Aero and i was impressed with it so I bought one right lol. So this would actually be the first time working on a Saab. I plan on working on it today so feed back will be very appreciated! Thank you and i will continue to post what i find out. Oh also i went on Youtube and to me it maybe be the oilpump sealNot sure but the more info the merrier!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2013, 08:07 AM   #2
Elder

Send a message via AIM to Tweek's Turbos
A good start is to pressure wash the thing and look for the fresh leak.

The oil pan does not use a gasket but an anerobic sealant. Somebody will chime in with the best stuff to use.

While it is off you need to check the pick up screen and replace the o rings for the oil pick up as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAABseanSCANIA
can be prone to failure due to increased localized stresses in the hole penetrations
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 12-01-2013, 09:14 AM   #3
SAABeginner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweek's Turbos View Post