Prospective Saab owner - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > General 9-5 Posts and Information

General 9-5 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the 9-5.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2013, 09:18 PM   #1
SAABeginner

Prospective Saab owner

Hello everyone. This is my first post to saablink. I'm interested in getting a circa 2000 9-5. I'm a college student and want to have it for my daily driver. I'm not new to cars, and I am very mechanically enclined. Had a tuned out crx, si, which was destroyed in a hit and run accident that happened to me. Survivng that, I thought it might be time to upgrade to a well safety engineered saab. Long story short I plan to go car shopping in a few weeks, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what to look for in a used 9-5. Any problems I should be on the lookout for? Any kind advise would be appreciated.

Thanks, from so-cal.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2013, 04:27 AM   #2
Elder

Send a message via AIM to mike d
Maintence is everything, a big stack of recites is worth extra money.

what is your price range? if your looking for cheaper ones, make sure they are not sludged, and that all the exhaust studs are in tackt. grindng into reverse are signs of failing gearboxes, on manual trans cars and excessive camber on the rear wheels is a sign the car was overloaded for a long period of time.

besides that, these are the best cheap car you will ever purchase
Old 03-02-2013, 04:27 AM   #3
Avid TSL User