Higher Mileage '04 Aero Wagon - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > General 9-5 Posts and Information

General 9-5 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the 9-5.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2018, 02:34 PM   #1
SAABeginner

Higher Mileage '04 Aero Wagon

Hi Guys!

I'm new to the world of saablink but have found some incredibly knowledgeable forums from you guys.

Unfortunately my current Saab ('04 Linear) is suffering from some severe iron oxide poisoning to the rear doglegs and fender edges. This is my first car and I have absolutely loved it, but being a college student I really can't justify putting $2000+ worth of rust repair into a $1400 car. That said, I've been doing some craigslist shopping and found an exceptionally clean '04 aero wagon which I'm sure I could get down into the $2250 range. Unfortunately, it has higher mileage at 170k. My question for you is: would buying this higher mileage wagon and doing an engine rebuild in two years be worth it? Or should I simply wait a few weeks and find a lower mileage wagon for double the price. Thank you!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-08-2018, 07:48 AM   #2
Flirting With TSL Addiction

If the seller has maintenance records 170k isn't too much mileage to be concerned about IMO. My two Aero wagons have 230K and 300K, both run great and have never been rebuilt.
If there are no hard records, ask the seller if any preventative maintenance was ever done on the engine, like timing chain replaced, dropping the oil pan to check for sludge, etc. Though I don't think sludge is as much of an issue on an 04 as on earlier cars.
02 Aero Wagon
07 9-3

94 Miata
05 Legacy GT