ECU 2002 Saab 9-5 - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab 9-5 '98-'09 Forum > General 9-5 Posts and Information

General 9-5 Posts and Information Please post general topics pertaining to the 9-5.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2017, 11:51 AM   #1
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
ECU 2002 Saab 9-5

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone has had to replace the ECU on a 2002 Saab 9-5. Are the aftermarket ones, e.g., at All Computer Resources Inc any good? What's involved in replacing one? Does it need to be programmed by a tech?
Jontim is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2017, 04:43 PM   #2
Drew In Houston
Elder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,864
They're usually pretty reliable normally, I'd call Goldwing Saab or English Swedish junkyards and see what they want for a used one.

Whatever you get from wherever, unless you supply them your old unit or immobilizer code, it needs to be married to the car either by re-writing the binary or using the TechII dealer tool.
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.
Trionic3000 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2017, 01:49 AM   #3
Elder
 
jssaab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jontim View Post
Hi, I'm wondering if anyone has had to replace the ECU on a 2002 Saab 9-5. Are the aftermarket ones, e.g., at All Computer Resources Inc any good? What's involved in replacing one? Does it need to be programmed by a tech?
It'd be nice for you to tell us why you think there is something wrong.

These are pretty bullet proof, we have people re flashing them a ton of times.

If you are getting a com error or no power on a OBD II or TechII check the pins on the OBD II port, sometimes they get loose or the wires pull out of the back of the pins.
jssaab is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.