Changing the seats - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab New 9-3 '03+ Forum > Customizing Your New 9-3

Customizing Your New 9-3 This forum contains all CUSTOMIZING related Q&A's, such as Lights (taillights, headlights, turn indicators, clear corners, etc), Interior and Exterior modifications, Wiring, Gauges and more.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2007, 11:16 AM   #1
Elder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,418
Changing the seats

I have a 2003 9-3SS with a power driver's seat and the standard adjustable passenger seat.

Jameson (who is awesome!!) found me a set of seats out of a 2006 9-3 (front and rear) that is local for me.

They are at a great price and in better condition than my current ones.

What all is involved in switching the seats out? Possible to run power to the passenger, how difficult? Where do I source it?

I know a lot of people have replaced seats in OG 9-3 and 9000 but specific help towards the SS would be awesome.

Thanks in advance. And thanks Jameson for the deal!
Topher is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2007, 11:20 AM   #2
Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 10,066
Send a message via AIM to Jameson
You are welcome.

There are a couple people on here who are techs that work on a lot of SS's. Hopefully one of them will chime in. I am hoping that the wiring and harness for the passenger side is there even though your car was not equipped with it at the time. In my experience with swaps like this many of the options are pre-wired and it is just a plug in play.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jameson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 11:34 AM   #3
Elder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,418
Yeah, I am hoping the same Jameson.

However, with as advanced as seats are becoming it makes me apprehensive. What if the vehicle was in a crash etc, does this effect the BUS system or whatever (this is hypothetical).

Crossing my fingers either way.

The place was really cool when I called on them. And $299 for a full set is a dang good deal.
Topher is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-13-2007, 12:03 PM   #4
Elder
 
Red DIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saratoga/Albany
Posts: 3,257
Glad to see you've got some work to do on the saab Topher.
I don't see why it would be more than unbolting the old and bolting in the new? Did they change the design?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Red DIC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 12:10 PM   #5
Elder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red DIC View Post
Glad to see you've got some work to do on the saab Topher.
I don't see why it would be more than unbolting the old and bolting in the new? Did they change the design?
Nope similar design, they are gray leather with the inserts of a slightly different color.

Just unsure of whether the BUS system will "read" the new seats or if they will throw a airbag failure light, etc.
Topher is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 12:14 PM   #6
Elder
 
Red DIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saratoga/Albany
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topher View Post
Just unsure of whether the BUS system will "read" the new seats or if they will throw a airbag failure light, etc.
If it does, what's the worst that could happen, limp mode? Seems aireeca has already given you that...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Red DIC is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 04:44 PM   #7
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Carl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On the main drag in Stratham, NH
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via AIM to Carl Send a message via Skype™ to Carl
I've said it in the 9-2x forum and I'll say it here... the SRS ECU needs to see a reference resistance within specification from the side airbag module. The connector at the bottom of a 9-3SS seat should be identical in all variants, with the uninstalled equipment's respective wires not in existence. However, because the power seats are self-contained, you shouldn't have an issue. I will take a look at WIS tomorrow to confirm this. So basically, its plug and play -- just make sure the battery is disconnected so you don't end up throwing any codes.

CL
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

M00 9-3 Conv. B234 makes up for Sun Green
M73 99L In Maine
Carl is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2007, 04:53 PM   #8
Elder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by granite_embedded View Post
I've said it in the 9-2x forum and I'll say it here... the SRS ECU needs to see a reference resistance within specification from the side airbag module. The connector at the bottom of a 9-3SS seat should be identical in all variants, with the uninstalled equipment's respective wires not in existence. However, because the power seats are self-contained, you shouldn't have an issue. I will take a look at WIS tomorrow to confirm this. So basically, its plug and play -- just make sure the battery is disconnected so you don't end up throwing any codes.

CL


YOU ROCK.

Thanks
Topher is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2007, 06:53 AM   #9
Live, eat, and sleep by TSL
 
Carl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On the main drag in Stratham, NH
Posts: 1,094
Send a message via AIM to Carl Send a message via Skype™ to Carl
Just as I suspected, the 9-3 uses a large gang connector under each seat to provide adequate power, bus, seat heater control and crap. The question remains if your car is indeed pre-wired for a memory seat... as long as pin 23 (I-Bus) is connected to the connector on the car side, the DSM module (still hopefully attached to your newly acquired seats) will talk to the rest of the car and allow memory settings to be saved and retrieved. I have posted the relevant WIS stuff at http://www.granite-embedded.com/9440seats.pdf

Good luck!

CL
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

M00 9-3 Conv. B234 makes up for Sun Green
M73 99L In Maine
Carl is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2007, 05:25 AM   #10
SAABeginner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Newbie looking for seat help.

I'm new here, and this post is right up my alley. I'm building a custom 1948 Chevy Street Rod, and I bought a set of seats froma 2004 9-3 Convertible. I want to use all of the functions of the seats. I have all of the wiring diagrams and relevant info from the WIS. It appears that I need to provide the "wake up" signal to the Drivers Seat Module. This normally occurs when the key is on or the door is open.

I'm thinking maybe some kind of signal generator to provide the signal, or maybe even trying to install the Column Info module to provide the signal.

What would be great is if the I-bus signal to the DSM only says "go ahead and provide power to the switches via pin 28 out of the DSM. Then I could just send 10amps to the switches and everything would work. I doubt it is that simple, though.

Does anybody know what happens in the DSM when the correct I-bus signal is received?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Walt
48builder is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.