No Spark not the same as the rest - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab NG900 '94-'98 and 9-3 '99-'02 Forum > Car Problems? NG900 or old 9-3 Only

Car Problems? NG900 or old 9-3 Only If you're experiencing problems with your NG900 or 9-3, post your question in here. CEL Code or GTFO!

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2017, 05:54 AM   #1
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
No Spark not the same as the rest (Solved)

Ok so yet another no start no spark, I just got this beautiful Black viggen look a like and want to get her running. The PO said that she would crank then start for a second then die. I was able to get it to do so once or twice but now just cranks and cranks. Feels like a slow crank even when hooked to jump box. Pulled old plugs (denso ik???) they were wet and cylinder 1 was melted or came into contact but there is no impact scars on the piston.

2003 Convertible 9-3 se

Have fuel pressure at the rail,
Replaced CPS with one out of donor,
Replaced plugs (NGK BCPR6es-11),
checked for vacuum leaks,
Replaced battery,
Replaced DIC with Brand new and tried Known Good,

Edit:
(solved)
So to Update everyone I went and got a new CPS and installed it and had the same issue so I dug deeper and went to replacing vac lines and such. When I cleaned the throttle body I noticed that the butterfly was not opening with the throttle cable. I guess the spring crapped out. Replaced with one from one of my donors. She is purring like a swedish kitten. Now to finish the vac lines and adjust idle some reason it's holding steady at 1.5k and only drops if in gear.

Last edited by sleeper93; 02-03-2017 at 05:46 AM. Reason: update
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2017, 06:11 AM   #2
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
How about the DI Cassette?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2017, 06:18 AM   #3
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
Sorry yes I Replaced DIC with Brand new and tried Known Good, (updated post)
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2017, 06:20 AM   #4
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
Look closely at the tachometer when you are cranking the engine, see if it jumps slightly as the engine is turning over.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2017, 06:32 AM   #5
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
It did not appear to be bouncing but I have also found this test to only work some of the time with other CPS issue Saab's I have worked on.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2017, 07:00 AM   #6
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
I have had brand new CPS bad out of the box and typically only buy the Bosch OE ones. Would be definitely worth double checking the CPS and the wiring/connector.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2017, 09:22 AM   #7
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
I am going to pull the one out of my daily (9-5 tonight and try that.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2017, 09:37 AM   #8
Elder
 
DrewP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,020
If one of the plugs was melted, check the compression. An easier way to check the CPS is with a fuel injector test light (noid light) - if you get flashing at the injector harness when cranking then the CPS is fine.
__________________
(Former) Saab Tech / Competition Prep

Quote:
You still don't understand. This is like trying to explain calculus to a clam.
DrewP is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 05:45 AM   #9
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
So to Update everyone I went and got a new CPS and installed it and had the same issue so I dug deeper and went to replacing vac lines and such. When I cleaned the throttle body I noticed that the butterfly was not opening with the throttle cable. I guess the spring crapped out. Replaced with one from one of my donors. She is purring like a swedish kitten. Now to finish the vac lines and adjust idle some reason it's holding steady at 1.5k and only drops if in gear.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:10 AM   #10
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleeper93 View Post
So to Update everyone I went and got a new CPS and installed it and had the same issue so I dug deeper and went to replacing vac lines and such. When I cleaned the throttle body I noticed that the butterfly was not opening with the throttle cable. I guess the spring crapped out. Replaced with one from one of my donors. She is purring like a swedish kitten. Now to finish the vac lines and adjust idle some reason it's holding steady at 1.5k and only drops if in gear.
Um, its not supposed to actually. The throttle cable should not move the butterfly manually until its in limp home mode. The TB is electrical obviously. If you watch the silver cam looking piece on the TB and rev the engine with your hand on the throttle cable, the cam looking piece moves on its own based on what the ECU thinks is appropriate.

I have never seen a TB cause a total no start. I have a feeling there is an electrical gremlin or some loose connector.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:33 AM   #11
Drew In Houston
Elder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saabeh View Post
Um, its not supposed to actually. The throttle cable should not move the butterfly manually until its in limp home mode. The TB is electrical obviously. If you watch the silver cam looking piece on the TB and rev the engine with your hand on the throttle cable, the cam looking piece moves on its own based on what the ECU thinks is appropriate.

I have never seen a TB cause a total no start. I have a feeling there is an electrical gremlin or some loose connector.
Yep, second Saabeh's comment.

It sounds like you may have replaced a good throttlebody with a bad one. If you don't have it already, you'll definitely get a t-body related CEL as soon as you try to drive it and it'll run like crap.

These things are throttle-by-wire, meaning there's a motor in there that actually controls the position of the throttle plate--and the normal situation is that the throttlebody input where the throttle cable connects is disconnected from the butterfly. When things are functioning correctly, there are redundant 0-5V and a 5-0V position sensors inside the t-body--the ECU performs subtraction on the two voltage levels, and the result needs to be a continuous 2.5V =/- some error tolerance.

Those two internal sensors measure the position that the throttle cable moves the input to the throttle body, report that position to the ECU, and then the ECU drives the signal for the throttle plate position, and then the t-body moves the plate.

The safety is a one-shot solenoid, that if something fouls up, activates and connects the throttle plate directly to the throttle cable. If the butterfly is moving with the cable, that means it's in limp home mode and that solenoid activated.

Look on here for how to reset the limp home solenoid, it's a manual procedure, and you'll have to clear the CEL at the same time, otherwise it'll just reactivate the limp home solenoid. You'll hear it clicking around.
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.

Last edited by Trionic3000; 02-03-2017 at 06:44 AM.
Trionic3000 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:35 AM   #12
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
I know that every pre MY saap I have and have had are all controlled by the trottle cable and yes they are also tied into the ecu by means of the harness allowing control over limp mode and cold start since iac valve was done away with in the 9-3's. See link for diagram of TB https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=...86222448189434
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:39 AM   #13
Drew In Houston
Elder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleeper93 View Post
I know that every pre MY saap I have and have had are all controlled by the trottle cable and yes they are also tied into the ecu by means of the harness allowing control over limp mode and cold start since iac valve was done away with in the 9-3's. See link for diagram of TB https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=...86222448189434
Okay, I don't know what you're trying to say here and the link is just a picture to buy a throttlebody.

But read what I wrote, look up how to reset the limp home mode, clear the CEL at the same time, and listen that it doesn't click and re-engage the solenoid.
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.
Trionic3000 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:39 AM   #14
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
I do believe that the old TB could have had a fried circuit or something as I did check the harness for any burns or exposed wire and found nothing for concern. On the old TB when using the black arm to open or close the butterfly it would not ingage the silver lower arm. I attempted to do a limp reset on the TB but to no avail.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:42 AM   #15
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
I will take a picture a little later but to me it looks as if the 2 lower points of the spring on the side had somehow jumped the plastic piece stopping the 2 arms from moving together.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:43 AM   #16
Wagon Shaggin'
Site Moderator
 
Saabeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ayer, MA
Posts: 6,705
After dealing with limp home mode a few times, you'll be an expert. But again, the butterfly and throttle cable on ALL T7 Saabs are NOT directly connected unless its in limp mode.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
The only reason it took all day to install was because we couldn't keep our dicks out of each others mouths.
Saabeh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:43 AM   #17
Drew In Houston
Elder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,864
Is the throttle plate moving when you move the black arm where the cable connects?

If it does, you're in limp home mode and it's not right.
__________________
Co-Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
First T7 19T turbo setup. First T7 Deka 80lb. injector setup.
Trionic3000 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2017, 06:57 AM   #18
TSLMember
 
sleeper93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 28
Before I swapped the TB out I tested by unplugging 1 connector at a time starting with the small connector just behind the valve and trying to start it would not move, Then the large harness connector again would not move nor start. I then wedged it open by means of the silver arm and a wrench and it fired up. So yes it could very possibly be the internal components of the TB or a fault somewhere in the wiring. To be honest I did not check movement of the replacement TB once installed as I know it started and is driving nice other then the high idle issue.
__________________
My Saab's give me a God Complex

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sleeper93 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
crank no start, no spark, no start

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the The Saab Link Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Vehicle Info.
Enter your vehicle information (year, model, mods)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All content is copyright The Saab Link and it's original authors.


 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.