second gear grinds - The Saab Link Forums

Go Back   The Saab Link Forums > Saab Classic 900 Forum '78-'93 > Car Problems? Classic 900 Only

Car Problems? Classic 900 Only If you're experiencing problems with your Classic 900, post your question in here.

SaabLink.net is the premier Saab Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2009, 08:29 PM   #1
SAABeginner

second gear grinds

hello all im a newbie to this forum and still dont own a saab but have found one i would like to purchase its a 2dr 89 EFI non turbo 3 owner car. very clean and tight but the second gear syncro is gone, you can allmost shift up but not down. my question is are these trannys easy to rebuild or should i just buy a used unit and stuff it in.
i should mention that i have mechanical experiance 20 years and am not affraid to dive in and fix what needs done. im pretty sure im buying this car as its just a clean example and is what we are looking for. it will be a back up car for the 930 when its down for mods.

any help would be great.

cheers ed
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2009, 08:28 AM   #2
Elder

Ed,

It's not too hard, and if you have done transmission work before it won't be anything new.

The best thing to do would be to find a cheap copy of the Hanes manual for the 900, about the only good thing that manual has in it is a detailed teardown of the transmission with some good photos.

The factory Saab manuals have it too, and those pop up pretty often, but the Bentley manual does not cover tearing down the gearbox.

I think syncro assemblies are still available new from a few online parts houses like www.eeuroparts.com.