Saab Link Forums banner

P1334, P1312, P0340 with 3 different DICs

7K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Mike Brennan 
#1 ·
Hello,
I am new to Saab ownership, and new to Saablink.net, so please forgive the ignorance I'm bound to display with this question.

I purchased a 2003 9-5 2.3t Linear that has been thoroughly molested. Apparently the engine failed, and the Previous Owner (PO) had a not-so-great mechanic swap out the motor with a used one. PO doesn't know the year model or mileage of the used engine. (I've looked for an engine number, but where it is supposed to be is only surface rust, no stamping visible at all. I went at it with a bit of sandpaper, but it revealed nothing. I'd love to know exactly what year model it is.)
The turbo has supposedly been rebuilt.

I bought the car cheap, knowing there was a problem with the check engine light and the car not running right. Sparing you the details, I determined (with the help of a certified Saab technician and his Tech 2) that the throttle body was the source of the most immediate issues, with the DIC a likely candidate for needing replacement, as well.

Indeed, replacing the throttle body with a used one from a known good car did solve the drivability issues, and the car no longer goes into limp mode.